the 80’s called

{gap jacket and tee/ h&m pants/ bakers sandals {similar}/ aeo sunnies}

and they want their jean jacket back.

that’s what my husband said to me when i walked out of our room the other day. you know, if he knew fashion really well, he would have also included my green pants in that sentence too.

you know what else? not that long ago, a phrase like that would have sent me back into my regular garb. but i’ve just stopped caring about things like that when it comes to what i wear. i was comfy, i looked good {sorry for the horn tooting, but i’m proud of myself for dropping all my baby weight}, and i didn’t look like every one else when i went to walmart that day.

i read a quote by adam lambert, of all people, about a year ago that changed my perspective on fashion. he said {to paraphrase}

the only thing you need to “pull something off” is the desire to do so

and so, i will wear my denim jacket and colored pants until they fall wayout of style again. and then one day we will look back at this picture and laugh just like we do at the lovely folks of the 80s. but at least i’m not wearing black.

pleated poppy

12 Responses to “the 80’s called”


  1. 1 thenauticalwheeler April 18, 2012 at 6:15 am

    I love the jeans! I think you look cute :)

    From Brooklyn with love,

    Jen

  2. 3 jennsu April 18, 2012 at 7:31 am

    I like the color of ur pants:)

  3. 5 Cortney April 18, 2012 at 8:03 am

    I walked out of our room the other day with my new riding boots on and my husband without missing a beat asked me if I was riding my horse to work…hilarious husband…hilarious. psh! I happen to think you look great though!!

  4. 7 mommasmetime April 18, 2012 at 8:37 am

    That is a great quote! I like how you don’t care what other think and say about your outift and are just yourself! What a great way of thinking! You look great btw. I’m loving those jeans!

  5. 9 Linda Z April 18, 2012 at 10:29 am

    Cute outfit! I’ve seen a lot of these jean jackets around… what goes around comes around!! :)

  6. 10 cbstamping April 18, 2012 at 10:45 am

    Aren’t husbands comments on our clothes great? My WIWW post is about my husband calling my new capris “granny jeans”.

  7. 11 cbstamping April 18, 2012 at 10:45 am

    Aren’t husbands comments on our clothes great? My WIWW post is about my husband calling my new capris “granny jeans”.

    ~Christy (http://www.christyBphotography.com/blog)

  8. 12 Rachel April 20, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    You go girl! Love that attitude and I love the outfit. I will likely be sporting a very similar one with my green jeans tomorrow. Thanks for the inspiration.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


