becoming less: get moving

{via}

A lot of us would love to believe the lie that a diet change is all we need to be healthy. We would be wrong. The fact of the matter is – we need activity to keep us healthy. To get our heart pumpin’ right and to keep our muscles and joints working for as long as possible.

There are so many different options out there for exercise – and you really should check with your doc if you have any physical ailments that could be complicated by strenuous workout.

Me? I run.

I really still can’t believe it, honestly. I am in remission for JRA – a juvenile form of arthritis – but it has done {and continues to do, I think} irreparable damage to my joints. My knees especially. But, for some reason, when I run, my knees feel better. I was always told notto run, to find some other kind of activity, but when I began this change, I figured that busted up joints were the least of my worries. There’s a gentleman in my church who is an Iron Man {he’s my dad’s age} and he once said to me that anything can become a habit if done consistently for 30 days. He challenged me to run 30 minutes for 30 days to get started.

So that’s what I did.

I could barely make it out of my neighborhood without stopping when I started, but I worked my way up to running 3 miles straight when I found out I was pregnant with Marcus and stopped running. {Since having Marcus, I started running again – didn’t want you to think I was copping out or anything!}

I guess what I’m saying is – this is one of those things that you should just DO.

You don’t have to run. That’s just my thing – but pick some sort of activity – whether it’s a workout DVD, biking, swimming, or even P90X and just give it the old college try for 30 days. I’ll bet you’ll like it at the end.

I mean, if I can like running,anythingis possible.

This post is part of my “Becoming Less” series on healthy, effective weight loss. See my other posts here.

0 Responses to “becoming less: get moving”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


