becoming less: food part 2

Snacks.

It’s where you’re had, isn’t it?

Me. Too.

I’ve actually never really struggled with eating healthy meals. With the exception of some things {um, fried chicken anyone?} I always ate a pretty healthy diet in the breakfast/lunch/dinner categories.

It was in between that got me. And I’ll bet, it’s what really gets you too.

I’m just gonna cut to the chase here – a food addiction is just as real as any kind of drug or alcohol addiction. I’m not sure what they’re putting in the snack-y garbage that we all consume, but it’s totally and completely addictive.

I know, because I went through withdrawal. Withdrawal. From food.

I wasn’t starving myself, I just wasn’t taking in what I was used to consuming.

Here’s the thing.

I do not believe in deprivation. I think when people deprive themselves of things, it’s what leads to failure. What is necessary though, is re-training your palette. When I decided to make this huge change, the first thing I did was eliminate all junk food from my diet. Totally and completely. I stuck to my list when I went grocery shopping and didn’t purchase a single bit of junk food. No chips, no pretzels, no donuts, or ice cream. Nothing. Instead I made sure to have things on hand that were good snack choices; fruits, veggies, yogurt, and nuts – covering sweet and savory cravings.

The first week was miserable. I would crave something, go to my cabinet, discover nothing that I really wanted, and it would ruin my mood for a good hour. I would eat what I had there, but I was angry. Then I got angry that I was angry. I mean seriously, what the heck is in this food that it causes withdrawal?!

The next week, however, was much easier, and by the week after that, I actually wanted fruits and veggies, and nuts. I had a new palette, one that appreciated what I made available to myself.

Like I said though – you can’t deprive yourself of things totally. Every now and then, I get a craving for something “bad.” My salty craving is usually for Doritos, and my sweet craving is usually for Reese’s Cups. I don’t keep them in the house – but if I get to a point now where I really, really want them, I go to my local convenience store and buy a small bag of Doritos, or a 2-pack of Reese’s Cups. And that’s all I need. And I really only do that about once a month or so. {I should tell you that I didn’t do this when I was going through my withdrawal period, because I knew I wasn’t able to have control at that point.}

There’s nothing wrong with eating when you’re hungry. It’s what you’re actually eating that ends up being wrong. If you can conquer your snack-food-addiction, you really will be successful in maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

This post is part of my “Becoming Less” series on healthy, effective weight loss. See the other posts here.

0 Responses to “becoming less: food part 2”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


