half birthday

You’re 6 months old now.

This just totally and completely shatters my heart into a million tiny pieces.

How is it that this time has flown by so quickly? A half of a year, gone, just like that. Just like everyone said it would. I swear if I blink again, you’ll be 18. It’s hard to stop blinking though.

You amaze me with your learning abilities. It’s like one day you’re on the verge of doing something, and them BAM! the next day, you’re just doing it. Like sitting up. One day, you could only sit up for 5 seconds before falling over, and then just like that, there you were sitting up all by yourself, without my help. And now, you’re even more of a pro. Stop growing up so fast, will ya?

You talk a lot. It’s like you’re trying so hard to form words. You watch my mouth as I’m talking to you, and I can tell that you get it, but you don’t know how to duplicate it quite yet. Don’t worry. You’ll get there. For now, it’s really cute to watch you move your little tongue around in an attempt to form words. And sentences.

You’re super cute with Dasher. Poor little guy didn’t see you comin’, did he? You like to grab onto him – it seems you prefer his beard, poor guy – in an attempt to find out how hard you can pinch or pull before he cries uncle. Or bites you. He does neither, because he’s incredibly patient and tolerant, but he does seem to give me this look that says: “Really?” Also, you have a penchant for putting his ears or paws in your mouth. This is why I laugh at people who say “Oh! I almost forgot to wash my hands!” when they want to hold you. It’s clear that you have an immune system of steel. I mean, dog. paws. Yick.

You’ve got the most precious little giggle. Seriously, it makes me swoon. You don’t let it out all that often because most of the time you seem to be contemplating serious scientific theories or something, but sometimes, you’re just a little six-month-old baby who likes to giggle at his mommy’s fingers or the TV remote, and it just slays me.

I love that you reserve your biggest smiles for your dad and me. I love the we get to hear you talk more than anyone. I love how excited you get right before we put a spoonful of something or other in your mouth. I love the way you bring your feet up to your mouth and chew on your toes. I love the way you grab my neck and nuzzle into the crook of it. I love when you drift off to sleep in my arms. I love the serious way you inspect new things.  I love the way you bring a blanket up to your face to snuggle when I tuck you in for bed. I love the way you kick your left leg when I lay you down to change your diaper as if you’re revving an engine up. I love that you have no idea how to put the binky back in your mouth once you’ve pulled it out.

I love you more than I did when you were born.

2 Responses to “half birthday”


  1. 1 All Things Chic February 22, 2012 at 9:27 am

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. i love him SO MUCH!!

    **kisses** from auntie melissa

  2. 2 the momma February 22, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    Now you know what all us old moms were talking about before he was born. You have no idea you could love someone this much until it happens to you. Kiss the baby for me!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


