becoming less: grocery shopping

I’m interrupting the food weeks with 3 easy tips on grocery shopping because I feel that grocery shopping is where the magic happens. And by magic, I mean you see something and throw it into your cart without thinking twice. Repeat 50 times. Don’t lie, you know you do it.

  1. Be prepared – I go grocery shopping once a month. I sit down before I go, plan out my meals for that month, and write down everything I’ll need for those meals. And that’s the only stuff that makes it into my cart. Not only will this help health-wise, but I’ll bet you dollars to donuts {sorry} that you’ll save some cash too.
  2. Don’t go while your hungry. It’s just like being drunk {or, the cast of Jersey Shore} at a club, it lowers your inhibitions, and your liable to do something you wouldn’t otherwise. Like buy a five-pound bar of chocolate or something. And you and I both know that you don’t need that in the house.
  3. Shop the perimeter. My hubby read recently that if you shop the perimeter of the grocery store, you’re probably eating healthy. This is mostly true. Grocery stores keep all their fruits, veggies, meats, and dairy around the perimeter of the store. All the icky, processed, unhealthy-for-you stuff is in the inner aisles.

Simple, common sense, but effective. Do it!

This post is part of my “Becoming Less” series on healthy, effective weight loss. See the other posts here.

2 Responses to “becoming less: grocery shopping”


  1. 1 lifelemons February 21, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    Shop the perimeter is SO TRUE! Our groceries typically consist of meats, yogurts, milk, eggs, bread, fruits and vegetables. I also do the make a list and stick to the list trick, helps tremendously! My Dad recently pointed out that the Farmer’s Market on Kirkwood Highway has a huge selection of produce for really good prices.

  2. 2 Kelsey February 25, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    I can’t believe you plan all your meals for the whole month and only go grocery shopping once a month. I wish I could be that organized. Sometimes I can’t even think of what I want to cook for that night!

    XO Kelsey


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


