becoming less: food part 1

So, how’s it going eating off of your salad plate? Not a difficult change to make, but a change nonetheless.

Today, we’re going to talk about what you’re putting on your plate.

Here’s my mantra:

“If it comes from {or is} an animal and if it comes from {or is} something that grows from the ground – eat it. If not, avoid it.”

I am not about to tell you that you can just eat whatever the heck you want to and be healthy. That’s not the case it all. If you come into my home right now, you will see tons of fruits and veggies, lots of meats and cheese, and very little snacky items.

Let’s talk about meals though, mmk?

I hate to break it to you, but you should pretty much stay away from anything that comes in a box, bag, or bottle*. No cereal, no boxed mac’n’cheese, no frozen fries…none of it. It’s so unhealthy with preservatives and goodness knows what else.

The real way to have success with weight loss is to be in total control of what you put in your body.

That means making meals from scratch as frequently as possible.

The food pyramid has changed so much over the years, but it pretty much contains a common sense message: the largest space on your {salad!} plate should contain veggies, the next largest – some form of meat {fish is better than chicken – chicken is better than red meat}, and the smallest should go to some sort of starch or grain.

It may not sound terribly exciting, but there are about eleventy-trazillion {delicious} recipes for all of the above, literally at your fingertips thanks to the interwebs. And then of course you could always watch the Food Network or the Cooking Channel for some education on food prep.

And also? Making meals from scratch isn’t really complicated either. So stop being lazy. You just have to do a little planning.

I plan my meals out for the month. I look through cookbooks, on food sites and now Pinterest, to find what I want to make. I don’t set meals on specific days, I just see how my day or week feels and make what I want based on the craziness of the day. I also always make sure that I build in quick meals just in case I’m totally zonked. Like breakfast {for dinner}. Or grilled cheese {I know it seems “unhealthy” – we’ll get to that in another post}, or spaghetti and meat sauce. Easy, mindless stuff. But, it’s home-made {except for the bread or pasta – unless you make your own bread and pasta, in which case, bravo!} and so it’s definitely healthier than anytihng you could get in the freezer section, or worse, out to eat.

That’s it. It really is that simple. Have questions? Ask away.

*Be sure to apply common sense here- rice comes in boxes or bags depending on the distributor, and rice obviously isn’t what I’m referring to.

This post is part of my “Becoming Less” series on healthy, effective weight loss. Read the first post here and the second post here.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


