m&m pretzels

This will be the easiest little snack you’ve ever made. Ever.

My mom got the “recipe” from a co-worker years ago, and we’ve been making them ever since. They’re like a chocolate-covered-pretzel, except cuter and easier to make.

Here we go:

Ingredients:

Tiny Pretzels
M&Ms {whatever colors you desire – I chose Christmas colors}
Chocolate Chips {I used milk chocolate}

Directions:

1. Pre-heat the oven to 300 degrees Farenheit.

2. Get your “work station” ready by dumping your M&Ms into one bowl and your chocolate chips into another. This will help later on down the line so you’re not reaching into a bag constantly to pick them out when you’re trying to work quickly.

3. Line a rimmed baking sheet with wax paper {This is a crucial step. If you don’t do it, the pretzels will stick to your baking sheet and break when you try to take them off. Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything}.

4. Fit as many tiny pretzels as you can in one layer onto the baking sheet. What are tiny pretzels, you ask. These little guys:

5. Fill each hole in the pretzels with a chocolate chip and also put one in the center at the Y point of the pretzel. Like this:

It helps to “glue” the M&Ms in place better.

6. Once all of your chocolate chips are placed, bake them in the oven for 3 minutes. That’s right; three. When they come out of the oven, the chips will have held their shape but they’re soft and real melty-like. This is where you want to work quickly because the chocolate can harden; place one M&M inside of each little pretzel hole until all three are filled. It’s best to have someone there to help.

When you’re done you’ll have a tray that looks something like this:

Pop ’em in the fridge when you’re done to cool them and store them in air-tight containers in the fridge or at cool-room-temperature. Not a problem for me in the winter, I keep the house frigid. Eh, I’d rather spend my money on shoes.

I suppose this would be a good activity for kiddos, but I will have to teach Marcus about OCD before I let him help. Y’see, Christmas-colored M&Ms come with three colors in the bag; red, dark green, and light green. I like to put one of each color on one pretzel. I also like all of the Ms to be facing up. Luke knows this about me and will put three red M&Ms on one pretzel just to mess with me. With the Ms down.

Also? This is a neat little snack for any holiday/occasion. My grandmother uses pastel M&Ms for Easter. We’ve done school colors for my siblings’ graduation parties. We made them for my sister-in-law’s bridal shower using her wedding colors….and on and on and on.

Let me know if you try these!

7 Responses to “m&m pretzels”


  1. 1 Tracy December 13, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Im so glad you posted this before I buy all of my baking stuff on Friday! I make choc. covered pretzel rods dazzled in jimmies and candies and other junk! But, I am going to give your recipe a whirl! Plus they are just too cute! Thanks, Tracy

  2. 3 Kim December 13, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I make something similar, but I now think yours are way better! Mine have one Hershey’s kiss and one m&m on top… but your version has nothing to unwrap, and 3 m&m’s! Love it!

  3. 5 lifelemons December 13, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    Curse you for posting this after my trip to the grocery ;) LOL! My Mama loves these too, I’ll have to make her some for Christmas. Thanks Bestie!

  4. 7 the momma December 18, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    I tried and failed (miserably) before, I now see the errors of my ways and will do better next time! Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


