mike wazowski

There are things about pregnancy and childbirth and all of the events after childbirth that you can read in books. There are many more things that you learn from the women in your life. And then, there are the things that your husband figures out that turn out to be life-savers.

What I learned from reading: in the beginning, breast-feeding can be mildly painful

What I learned from my mother: in the beginning, breast-feeding is excruciating

I’m glad she told me, because in my case, breast-feeding was excruciating. This is not an exaggeration. I spent many feedings in the first 4-6 weeks of my son’s life in tears. My son is what is called a “barracuda sucker” except this article suggests that pulling him off to try a different latch would do the trick. This article is a liar. I will spare you the horrific details of what my son did to my breasts, but one night, while I was dangling from the edge of the cliff of breast-feeding, over the river of just bottle-feed him already, my wonderful husband ran to our local Walgreens to find some Lanolin in the hopes that it would solve my problems. While there, he discovered my new best friend of all time:

This is a nipple shield. When Luke saw it, he had no idea what it was for, but when your wife is at home sobbing on the couch because feeding your son hurts her so badly, you are willing to buy anything to help fix the problem.

Medela tells us that the nipple shield is for latch on difficulties {which Marcus certainly did not have} or for flat/inverted nipples. We do not care. We try it. And the nipple shield WORKS. The pain of breast-feeding vanishes, and I’m able to go about breast-feeding as if those hell-ish first 6 weeks never happened.

This is how my husband is a life-saver.

Since that time, we have had to purchase about 1,000 more nipple shields {we should have purchased stock in Medela} because our dog has destroyed 1 or 2 {or 7} of them, I’ve lost it, or I’ve gone somewhere without it and had to purchase another because it was easier than driving home and getting it since we live about 30+ minutes from anywhere worth visiting.

That happened to me this weekend. I was half-way to my parents’ house before realizing that I left it home. So I detoured to Babies R Us to purchase one.

Before you can use it for the first time after purchase, you have to boil it for 20 minutes. So I did. And after it finished boiling, I left it in the water on the stove to cool off a bit before using it.

At that moment, my brother Ben walked in, saw it, and said: “That looks like the biggest contact lens I’ve ever seen.” My mom and I cracked up laughing, and then my brother Zach chimed in: “Yeah, it’s like a contact lens for Mike Wazowski.”

2 Responses to “mike wazowski”


  1. 1 Sara Soda December 7, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I love Hunter boots! Been trying to convince the hubby that they’re necessary for a while. :)

  2. 2 fat burners June 20, 2013 at 11:41 am

    I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


