nursery

It occurred to me the other day that I never showed you the finished product of Marcus’ nursery. And since I got such a great reaction from my friend Bobbi {hi Bobbi!} last night when she saw it for the first time, I figured that the old adage “better late than never” would work in my favor. So, here you go:

{this little guy is on the door leading into his room}I wanted to find a vintage globe for this spot, but Luke vetoed that idea straight away. He said he wanted it to be accurate so that it could be an educational tool. He won.

My Aunt Rita {hi Aunt Rita!} embroidered Marcus’ name onto this precious little bib. I wanted to frame it since it’s just the cutest thing ever.

The Deets: The Internet was a fabulous resource in the creation of this room. The stripes and canvas drop-cloth drapes were ideas borrowed from Layla over at The Lettered Cottage. The monogram art above his little book shelf was an idea borrowed from the lovely Emily over at Jones Design Company. I don’t sew so, I found a no-sew pillow cover tutorial here to make the little pillow covers for the rocking chair. Also, I hated every single mobile I found in stores, and I found a make-your-own-mobile tutorial on the interwebs somewhere, but I guess I didn’t save the link, and now I can’t find it. Basically, all you need is some string, one of these guys, and some cute little wood shapes that you can find at any craft store and viola! You have a mobile.

Have any questions on stuff I didn’t cover? Ask away!

2 Responses to “nursery”


  1. 1 asktheduplex November 26, 2011 at 11:27 am

    I”m so in love with those stripes!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 2 weeks ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 3 weeks ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 2 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 3 months ago
  • going for a ride alone in the car.....to the dentist. somehow this isn't as relaxing as i thought it would be. #hatethedentist #whygod 3 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


