i’m a stalker

I’m really into mustard right now.

Not the condiment, the color.

It looks so great with just about every color in the world. It’s like an edgy neutral or something.

Since I’m not one for adopting much color into my wardrobe, I figured obtaining a mustard-colored scarf would be a safe way to introduce mustard to the rest of my closet. So that my closet wouldn’t be threatened.

I went shopping the other day with my sister and we popped into Forever 21. I visit that store infrequently, because I don’t often like to dress like a 16-year-old hooker. It seems like that’s the look they go for a lot. But they have great accessories, and I figured on giving them a chance for my scarf search.

30 seconds after entering, I found him.

But there was only one of him left, and some other woman had her grubby little mitts all over him. I pointed him out to my sister and told her that the second the other woman let him go, he was MINE. Gee whiz though. She just couldn’t decide on her feelings toward him. Did she like him? Didn’t she? There was no clear answer. And so my sister and I had to stand around, hovering, pretending to stare at the ring selection {Can we take a brief moment to discuss the rings at that store? I mean, are they anticipating that everyone who shops there has size 4 fingers or something? None of their rings fit me. EVER.} while she tried to decide whether or not she wanted to take him home. She tried him on, showed him to her mother, stared at herself in the mirror for a while…..it was excruciating. I wanted to shout at her: “Just put him back! If you really loved him and wanted to keep him for yourself, you wouldn’t have to stand around for a year to make the decision! You would just know like I do!!!!”

Well.

She put him back. And Andrea and I descended on him like vultures. I tried him on, Andrea gave a nod of approval, and off to the registers we went. I didn’t even need to find a mirror. I think I just knew that he was perfect.

 

6 Responses to “i’m a stalker”


  1. 1 Dominique November 15, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    Love that chunky scarf! Cute :)

  2. 3 the momma November 15, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Very nice scarf and cute photo too. Does it match the wall? Great color.


  1. 1 the new do « sunny side of life Trackback on November 16, 2011 at 8:55 am
  2. 2 the new do | fancy this Trackback on May 28, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 2 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. πŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


