we haven’t talked about my hair in a while

Over the years, you’ve witnessed some pretty intense hair changes.

There was the whole “let’s be a brunette!” debacle of 2006. Then shortly thereafter, I decided that not only did I want to be blonde again, but I wanted to be platinum blonde {I don’t actually have a picture of myself in the aftermath of that, but I was platinum for a while}. And for the last couple years or so, I’ve been this light-ish blonde with low lights.

Well, this time I’m doing something drastic.

Nothing.

Ok, so not nothing, but, you know, not something. I’m letting my natural color grow out. To be perfectly honest, I haven’t seen it in years; not unless you count glancing at my roots and deciding that I need a highlight pronto, seeing it. Because of those brief glances though, I’ve decided that my natural color isn’t nearly as hideous as I thought; either that, or it’s changed some, because it kind of is this honey-brown color with natural highlights. And you really can’t beat that.

Plus, I figure that this is kind of the last time I’ll be able to enjoy my natural color before gray starts coming in. Unless it’s a super-pretty gray like Meryl Streep in The Devil Wears Prada. Then, I might just keep it.

For the cut, I’m thinking about doing something similar to what Laura Kirkpatrick of ANTM fame has going on right now. It’s a longish bob with a thick-ish side-swept bang. Luke really wants me to grow my hair out {imagine that, a man who likes long hair on a woman. why, I’ve never heard of such a thing!}, so I feel like this is a good transition cut until my hair really gets the length I’m looking for. Which won’t take as long as usual, because I’m still taking pre-natal vitamins, and boy, do those things make my hair grow.

So that was some mindless entertainment for your Thursday. What’s up with you?

3 Responses to “we haven’t talked about my hair in a while”


  1. 1 sherry bitler November 3, 2011 at 10:20 am

    You know I enjoy a good hair talk. It is so nice to not have to worry about color – about ‘roots’, etc. And it has been exciting to see what God has designed for my look. I am not against hair coloring if it makes you feel better, but there is something to be said for the freedom of just enjoying the natural!!! And, after all those years of worrying about it – I am actually enjoying my gray!

  2. 2 Christa Burch November 3, 2011 at 11:12 am

    Laura… you should definitely be wary if Sherry starts coming around you with a camera in hand and snapping pics from all angles. She’s all about HAIR, that woman! (Which, by the way, her hair is looking amazing these days.) Here, here – or should I say, “Hair, Hair” – for going au naturale!


  1. 1 bangs, bangs, bangs « sunny side of life Trackback on November 9, 2011 at 9:45 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


