fashion friday: basic camis for tall women

Budget-friendly fashion has come a looong way – even since I was a child/teen – when it comes to dressing women who aren’t in the  5’4″ – 5’7″ height range. I can easily purchase jeans/pants in long {and even extra-long} length. There even seems to be a variety of lengths of shirts and sweaters available, so that I don’t have a difficult time filling my closet {just ask my husband}.

Even so, I found that it was still pretty difficult to find basic camis – you know, regular old black and white; no frills. It’s easy to find a cami that fits in the store, but once it’s washed {not even dried, just washed. i don’t believe in drying my clothes.} it shrinks up and it’s never long enough again.

And then I got pregnant.

And I ordered some camis and tanks from Gap Maternity. You wanna know something? I still wear them. You wanna know why? Because they’re long enough for me. You wanna know something else? Something mind-blowing? They’re slimming.

I know. Big shocker, right?

But they’re rouched on the sides, and rouching is where. it’s. at. for giving you that wonderfully slim appearance. They don’t look bulky or anything around the tummy area where, if you were pregnant you would have a tummy, so there’s no danger of getting asked that terrible awful question that shouldn’t ever be asked anyway.

Bet you didn’t see that coming. Did ‘ya?

4 Responses to “fashion friday: basic camis for tall women”


  1. 1 Cam October 21, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    Nope… didn’t see that coming at all. As a fellow tall girl – that’s good to know!

  2. 2 Breda Women lover October 22, 2011 at 1:28 am

    Here is an article that is good is useful for me. Thanks for sharing.

  3. 3 lifelemons October 22, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    I have Old Navy maternity tanks and intend on continuing to use them as well. The length is a marvelous thing!

  4. 4 Jen@mamaZEN October 24, 2011 at 11:12 am

    I thought I was the only one! I love my camis from the maternity store…and they suck you in! Thank you for coming forward with this confession ;)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


