fashion friday: wardrobe inventory

Every spring and fall, I season my clothes; that is, I put away the season of clothing that’s coming to an end and I pull out the season of clothing that’s just beginning.

I’m working on a special project for All Things Chic {stay tuned – it’s a good one} and so this time when I seasoned my clothes, I decided to take inventory of what I had.

It was so much bigger than getting rid of things that I don’t wear anymore and color-coding my closet. I actually wrote down every piece I have.

The outcome is so much better than what I could have hoped for – aside from knowing what I have in my closet now, I also know what I don’t have in my closet.

For example: I know that I need more sweaters like I need a hole in my head. But I’m in desperate need of accessories; like scarves and belts. I know that I’m all stocked up when in comes to regular old, run-of-the-mill camis. But I could really use pretty/frilly/flowery/flowy ones to wear in outfits where the layering is more on display. I also re-discovered that holy cow do I wear a lot of black/gray/brown/tan/white/cream. But, um, that’s never really been a secret nor is it something I’m sorry about.

I just put my inventory in good ol’ Microsoft Excel in categories: Sweaters/Jackets/Knits/Ts/Bottoms/Shoes/Accessories and broke everything down by color and pattern.

Here’s the million dollar question: Why do you want to do this?

It’s simple really, you want to do this so that when it’s done, you don’t really have to think when it comes to building your weekly wardrobe – you can just sit down at the beginning of every week and easily plan out your outfits based on your activities because you know, without looking, what you have “in stock.”

And that’s worth its weight in gold.

4 Responses to “fashion friday: wardrobe inventory”


  1. 1 Diane@BeStillaMinute October 14, 2011 at 8:40 am

    I have been telling myself I need to do this for weeks now. Organization is not my strong suit but I know I’m going to have to do it soon!

  2. 2 Jen@mamaZEN October 14, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Hi! I wish that I had time to do this. I have really purged quite a bit int he last few years and my wardrobe is very slowly making a recovery. But I do find that many of my outfits are missing “something”. It’s usually an accessory of some sort. This sounds like a great idea!
    Found you on Fashion Friday :)

  3. 3 Ellen October 14, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Just bought my first pair of “jeggings” today! So if any of those sweaters needs a new home, I hear that sweaters go well with “jeggings” and I’m tall… hint hint!

    I actually bought a cotton dress last week to wear with my brown boots and black tights from the wedding I went to last October… I showed up in my new outfit and fashionista Randy asked who helped me put the outfit together – I guess I graduated from kindergarten of style school because I proudly declared “no one!”. Now what to wear with these “jeggings”?!?!?! You should totally come to church Sunday because I’ll be wearing my boots!


  1. 1 i totally forgot to tell you « sunny side of life Trackback on November 14, 2011 at 10:23 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


