back to normal

Since Marcus was born, I have used the phrase above like 257,657 times. I keep saying things like:

“Oh, I’ll get my cleaning schedule together once things get back to normal.”

“I’ll do laundry more consistently once things get back to normal.”

“I’ll come up with better meal plans once things get back to normal.”

“I’ll blog more once things get back to normal.”

But it’s hit me that this is normal.

This new life, this life with this little one is my normal – my new normal.

It’s bizarre having something that relies so completely on me for its survival. It’s strange to go from completely free and easy to a life bound by the eating and sleeping schedule of something so tiny.

I love having my little man around. But I think I’ve been expecting someone to come take him away from me – like parents who come home after a night out to relieve you of your duties.

I’m trying not to be hard on myself though.

The cleaning can be put off, the laundry will get done eventually, we’re certainly not starving, and you all can do without me just fine. But I will never get these moments back.

When he smiles because I’m talking to him. Watching him sleep with his arms above his head. Seeing how his eyes change color almost daily. These are the things that are worth sacrificing for.

This new normal – it’s way more than it was ever cracked up to be.

6 Responses to “back to normal”


  1. 1 Betty September 20, 2011 at 8:57 am

    oh, the sweet blissdom of the new normal. may you continue to enjoy it! It seems so beautiful!

  2. 2 lifelemons September 20, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    I learned long ago that chores can wait, but the moments with your babies will fade away, quickly. I can’t believe it’s already been a month! Enjoy the new “normal!”

  3. 3 the momma September 20, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    There is an old poem that says the same things you mentioned. I will try to find it for you. Enjoy is as much as possible, the commercial is right, if they could only stay little till their Carter’s wear out. Kiss the baby for me.

  4. 4 Krista September 20, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    congratulations!!!

    You’ve chosen the right thing……no one ever said- I wish that I wouldn’t have held my baby so much.
    Many blessings to you and your husband!

  5. 5 kim September 24, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Good luck. It’s not easy, especially when you start to notice that “your” life has changed so much but “his” really hasn’t!
    Try to enjoy mommyhood. it’s soooo hard but soooo worth it!

  6. 6 Humanmama AJ Dilling September 26, 2011 at 10:36 am

    It IS the new normal! And it doesn’t get better for a while…but just enjoy where you are. It’s fast… :)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 2 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


