when the apple she’s-a ripe, she’s-a fall

This is what my great-grandfather {the one from Italy, hence the “she’s-a”} used to say to his girls when they were impatiently expecting the arrival of one of their children. More specifically, my grandmother, who shared this little pearl of wisdom with me.

Today is my due date, and I’m not writing to tell you about the birth of my son. Oh, it will happen, and sure, maybe I’ll go into labor at some point today, but I’m not gonna hold my breath. My little man, he’ll get here when the Lord is good and ready for him to arrive.

That’s what I’m writing to tell you about.

Y’see, we all remember the panic with which my Doctor has been treating the arrival of this giant baby I’m supposed to have. And I know that prayer is an effective tool, but sometimes, even I’m surprised at its power.

At my appointment last week, my Doctor informed me that should I not go into labor this upcoming weekend that he would want to induce me either next Monday or Tuesday, August 15th or 16th. There must be something intimidating about the M.D. next to his name, because instead of speaking up in defense of myself {and my son}, I just sat there and nodded, even though it’s not how I wanted things to go. I want him to come out when he’s done cooking. Or, in the words of my great-grandfather, when “{s}he’s-a ripe.” Period.

But after lengthy conversations with Luke and my mother {who has some experience in the whole child-birth world}, and after praying for peace about my decision and strength to actually speak up about it, I decided to tell my Doc that I wanted to wait.

And you know what?

He listened. And was encouraging me in my decision.

I simply told him, that instead of inducing labor, I would much rather wait until labor induced itself. That I felt that the process would be much smoother, and I would know that he was ready to come out, not that he was being forced to. And he agreed with me. He said that he doesn’t like to induce, that in his experience women have a much easier time with labor if it just comes about naturally, and that as long as my blood pressure didn’t do anything goofy, and the baby’s vitals look good, we have no problems waiting.

What a relief.

In the meantime, I guess I’ll just have to keep telling you about how much I love Pottery Barn pillows, or find some great upcoming fall fashion to make you drool over {fall fashion is my favorite – I can’t wait to tell you about my plans for my post-baby-bod}.

The moral of the story? Ask and ye shall receive.

2 Responses to “when the apple she’s-a ripe, she’s-a fall”


  1. 1 lifelemons August 10, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Our God he’s-a Soveriegn One!

    I’ve been praying for you and Marcus and holding my breath for no induction so I’m so glad your doctor listened to you!!!

  2. 2 Heddys mom August 11, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    All in good time- I agree. Inducing not always the outcome you want, as you were there with Heddy and saw first hand.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


