before we become three

I am quickly approaching my due date, and although I’m under no illusions that our son will actually show up on time, I’m becoming increasingly aware of the fact that this. is. it.

I wanted babies from the start. Right from the beginning. And you wanted to wait.

So we waited.

And it was good that we waited. Because you were deployed for a year not long into our marriage, and then you were in the police academy for 6 months, and during all of this, we {well, mostly I} were living with my parents.

Can you imagine a baby in all of that insanity?

We’ll be married 5 years this September, and although that’s just a flash in the pan in the grand scheme, it is a decent chunk of time that seems to have flown by so quickly. So, so quickly.

I still feel like we just got married.

And now we’re adding a baby to the mix, and while I’m just thrilled to pieces to meet him a snuggle him and kiss him etc. I can’t help but to feel a little bittersweet at the change.

It’s not going to be just us anymore. And I love us.

So, before we become three, I just want you to know that these last five years have been so much fun. I’ve learned so much about you and me and what makes us tick. I’ve learned a tremendous amount about grace and forgiveness because you reflect those things so well. I’ve cried more than I ever have, but I’ve also laughed more. I’ve woken up {later than I will for a long, long time} next to the most wonderful man in the world. I’ve memorized your smell, the sound of your voice, the color of  your skin and hair, and that adorable dimple on your cheek. I’ve had more fun that I thought possible on dates and vacations. We’ve talked endlessly about everything and nothing. We’ve had an incredible amount of freedom that I’m beginning to see that we’ve taken for granted, but what young couple doesn’t?

And then, on December 5, 2010, we learned that we were to become parents. We moved through all of the stages; shock, disbelief, excitement, excitement, and more excitement. And, ok, some fear and panic as well. And we did it together. Like I hope and pray we’ll always do things. Together.

I can’t wait to meet our little man, our Bambino, and I know you can’t either.

But before we become three, I hope you know that I have loved being just two.

1 Response to “before we become three”


  1. 1 Angela Cinaglia August 8, 2011 at 9:02 am

    That was just beautiful, Laura! Brought a tear to my eye! :’) I pray you always remember that it was you two first, and in the end, when all the bambinos move out, it will be you two again. Love each other fiercely!! Can’t wait to meet baby Angert!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


