my cheesecake brings all the boys to the yard

I’ll admit it – I’m a fan of Martha Stewart. She’s {or maybe, a fabulous team of people who she takes the credit from. But you know, potato/potahto.} got great decorating ideas, yummy-looking recipes, and some pretty great gardening skills.

That being said.

I find that most of her recipes are a little ridiculous. As in, “Um, where the heck do I get that particular ingredient from? Oh, only from Norway? Guess I won’t be making that.” So as tasty as her stuff sounds, I just avoid making anything with her name on it.

But this pregnancy thing is no joke.

And I wanted “something strawberry” – which is the vaguest craving ever, in case you were wondering – and when I went searching for “strawberry recipes”, my go-to websites, Real Simple and The Food Network left a little something to be desired. {Not that they didn’t have fabulous options, but I just didn’t see anything that really jumped out at me, you know?}

So, in my pregnancy-craving-insanity, I decided to go over and see what Martha had to say about my Strawberry craving.

A lot, it turns out.

I found several recipes that I was really into, that didn’t look terribly complicated, but I focused my attention on her Strawberries and Cream Cheesecake recipe. Because, um, YUM. So I made it this weekend, and although there are a few time-consuming steps, the cheesecake as a whole was really simple to put together. And it tastes phenomenal. Like, for realz.
Basically what I’m telling you, is that if you want the peeps in your life to think that you’re a super-great gourmet baker, you should totally make this cheesecake. I will say this as a warning – I enjoy baking and cooking and the like, so this was fun for me, but even if you don’t LOVE to bake or cook, you mightcould still enjoy making this; If for no other reason than the incredible sense of satisfaction that you’ll have after making a cheesecake. 
 
And not just any cheesecake, but a Strawberries and Cream Cheesecake Martha Stewart Masterpiece.

11 Responses to “my cheesecake brings all the boys to the yard”


  1. 1 Humanmama AJ Dilling July 12, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    Awesome. Now I have to find a Vanilla bean (I almost spelled it like my kids say it–Banilla Bean). Hmm. Also, I probably have to make this for my pregnant sister now, too, right? Thanks for the idea!!

    • 2 fancythis July 12, 2011 at 5:31 pm

      you know what? i totally should have said that I didn’t use a vanila bean – used vanilla extract – because I’m a rebel like that. also…i used EXTRA-LARGE eggs instead of just regular large eggs because ina garten of the barefoot contessa told me {and everyone else who was watching her show} that extra large eggs make her baking so much better. and i’m not one to argue with ina.

  2. 3 Humanmama AJ Dilling August 3, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    you should never, never argue with Ina. And, would that I had a job where I made dinner for my husband, filmed it, and made a million dollars! I think the food channels are mom’s answer to kind-of getting out and getting culture :)

  3. 4 Humanmama AJ Dilling August 22, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Hey! I made this cheesecake this weekend. I don’t think it came out as good as yours…but it was SOooooooooooo good. thanks for the suggestion–check it out on my blog! http://www.humanmama.com/?cat=22

  4. 5 instant credit card processing April 20, 2013 at 2:06 am

    I appreciate, cause I discovered just what I used to be taking a
    look for. You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  5. 6 Winston May 18, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    Timex Ironman watches suffice the innumerable needs of athletes, cyclists, skiers, mountaineers, kayaks, etc.
    With time ticking by in the competitive fashion marketplace,
    Skagen watches will continue to grow leaps and bounds
    over the competition while remaining true to their high standards of quality and luxury.

    Dress watches are kept small, sleek and
    delicate to better emphasize the length of your arm and to
    compliment delicate dress styles and fabrics.

  6. 7 injury attorneys bronx May 21, 2013 at 1:48 am

    Hey there are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you require any coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  7. 8 Elvin June 8, 2013 at 2:55 am

    If you are not ready to fight with yourself, to say
    “NO” to things you liked to do or which were just a habit to you
    then nothing on Earth will help you to get rid of those excess pounds.

    Uncooked ginkgo biloba seeds have shown some small levels
    of toxins, so if you prefer the seeds it
    is advised to cook them prior to ingestion. Some manufacturers call their product a Cover while others use the name Case.

  8. 9 crib tent June 13, 2013 at 10:28 am

    Most importantly, the bassinet needs to have a wide, sturdy
    base. What makes bassinets so popular is their portability.
    And as a parent, it is only natural that you find the
    perfect bassinet mattress for your baby.

  9. 10 Brett June 22, 2013 at 10:28 am

    There are systems which might be better than your factory setup no
    matter what your budget is. It’s also worth noting that no system can be 100% wireless – some wiring is going to be required. Get a notebook and take notes on each of the settings for each change you are making to each track.


  1. 1 cheesecake is god’s breakfast — Human Mama Trackback on August 19, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


