well, since i don’t have gestational diabetes…

I sometimes struggle to understand the benefits of the medical world.

Like, ok, I get it. Medicine is great in certain circumstances. I hear the measles were nothing to tangle with. And I suppose it’s pretty great that we, as a society, don’t really die from the flu anymore. {Although, there was the whole swine flu epidemic thingy.}

But overall, medicine, and the practice of it, is just a big nuisance to me.

I mean, I’m quite certain that my arms have been poked and prodded and needled approximately 3,452 during this pregnancy. My mom and those in her generation always chuckle when I tell them about this procedure and that – things that are required now that they’d never even heard of “back then.”

I’m sure someone out there will have an argument for these procedures.

But my mother managed to give birth to five very large, very healthy children without the “benefit” of this medical rigmarole that Doctors put us poor women through.

It’s just silliness.

I’ll spare you the details, but basically, the Doc thought I might have Gestational Diabetes, but it turns out, after sitting for 3 hours with nothing to eat or drink, and having them take 4 different viles of blood from my arm {it’s a shame they killed Osama bin Laden, I think this would have been an excellent way to torture him} {yes, I’m ok with the idea of torturing men like Osama bin Laden}, they’ve decided that I do not, in fact, have Gestational Diabetes.

They just wanted me to come in a second time so that they could get my insurance money. I’m moving closer and closer to deciding on a home birth the next time around.

Once I found out the good news, I went home and made the most delicious cinnamon rolls ever. Take that Doc.

1 Response to “well, since i don’t have gestational diabetes…”


  1. 1 lifelemons June 3, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    I was just going to post about how pointless seeing doctor in general feels! We must be sharing a brain this week. Glad to hear you don’t have gest. diabetes!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


