the sun still works in may

I’ve been to the beach twice so far this year.

This is a little out of the ordinary for me, but I’m pleased as punch that the opportunities have presented themselves. I’m definitely a beach girl, but I usually only make it in-season, when I’m joined by thousands of my closest friends.

I went on Saturday with my sister, 2 of my brothers, my cousin, and a friend of my brother’s from the neighborhood.

I applied sunscreen {spf 15, because what is the point of the beach if you wear anything higher?} only once, in the morning before we headed down, because it’s May, and didntyouknow that the sun just doesn’t work the same way in May that it does in June, July, or August?

Before you preach to me.

I will rat my cousin out who didn’t apply sunscreen at all because, according to him, tanning is a science in which you must burn to a crisp your first time out. This burn, apparently turns to tan therefore setting you up for perfect tans for the rest of the summer.

I should tell you that of the 14 grandchildren on my mother’s side, he is one of only 2 who were blessed to receive the gorgeous olive complexion that most southern Italians posess. Brats.

The rest of us can tan. Just not in that capacity.

I will also tell you, that by about 2:00 in the afternoon, he really was burnt to a crisp and had to actually put a t-shirt on to ward off the sun for the rest of our time there. He is now, I believe, regretting his decision. Or, he was regretting it for a couple of days afterward at least.

I got burnt too, but mine was much more tollerable, and has, for the moment at least, remained tan rather than just peeling right off.

Even still, Luke was quick to remind me that the sun does in fact work in May. And that I might just want to reapply a time or two next time I go to visit the beach.

Which will probably just be in June. And of course you reapply sunscreen a couple of times in June.

The jury is still out for May.

2 Responses to “the sun still works in may”


  1. 1 Mel May 26, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    We live in Bethany Beach and I haven’t had the luxury to head to the beach for a day yet although it’s on my to do list for the long weekend. I love the crowds!! I must confess that I’m totally on the side of take the first burn and then it sets you up for a nice tan. At least that always seems to happen to me! Glad you didn’t get too bad of a burn. Who knew that May sun was so summer like?!

  2. 2 Aunt Mary May 26, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Because my hair is so fine, and the part in my hair (which never seems to be in exactly the same place each time I’m in the sun) gets burnt easily. I try to use the following info. The sun is closest to you on June 21. So on May 21, the sun is about as far away as on July 21; which means one is as likely to be burnt on May 21 as on July 21 – actually more likely to burn in May because I’m whiter in May than in July. Good luck not burning. Thanks for the lovely thank you card.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


