try this: raspberry cupcakes with champagne buttercream frosting

Do y’all watch Cupcake Wars? I admit that what I watch on TV would bore most people to tears, but I really get a kick out of this show. In a nutshell, 4 cupcake bakers compete in 3 rounds for the opportunity to have their cupcakes displayed at a large event and also for $10,000.

Just trust me that it’s like, the most entertaining thing ever, ok?

Anyway, I was watching a couple of weeks ago and watched one of the contestants make this cupcake recipe that I just knew I had to give it a try. And Mother’s Day was the perfect event to make it for. Can I just tell you something without you thinking that I’m an arrogant baker? These are the best cupcakes ever – and I love me some chocolate cupcakes too, so that’s gotta mean something. There isn’t an iota of chocolate in this recipe. But they’re nice and light {um, except for the buttercream – if you’re diabetic, keep your insulin on hand, k?} and perfect for spring/summer. And they were SUPER easy to make.

Ingredients

  •  2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon raspberry extract
  • 2 tablespoons pureed fresh raspberries
  • Champagne Buttercream Frosting, recipe follows

 Directions

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Line a regular-size cupcake pan with 18 cupcake liners. {this recipe made 22 cupcakes for me}

 Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. In the bowl of an electric stand mixer with a paddle attachment, add the sifted dry ingredients and mix on low speed for 30 seconds. Slowly add the oil to the mixture until fine crumbs are formed. Add the eggs, milk, raspberry extract, and pureed raspberries and mix on low speed for 1 minute. Stop and scrape the bowl and paddle, and then mix on medium speed for 2 minutes.

 Fill the cupcake liners three-quarters full with batter and bake until baked through, about 20 minutes. Do not open the oven during this time. Cool cupcakes completely after baking.

 Put the Champagne Buttercream Frosting into a pastry bag and cut 1/2-inch off the tip. Frost each cupcake in a circular motion until the top of the cupcake is completely covered and serve.

Champagne Buttercream Frosting:

  • 1 pound unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 6 cups powdered sugar
  • 4 tablespoons Champagne, or 1 tablespoon Champagne flavoring

 In the bowl of an electric stand mixer with a whisk attachment, whip the butter until creamed. Add the powdered sugar and champagne and mix until the ingredients are evenly incorporated and the frosting is smooth and creamy.

Now, the professional baker on the show garnished hers with a sweet little fondant flower. I don’t have her mad skills, so I just garnished each cupcake with a fresh raspberry. Either way – it’s the cupcake that really matters. And boy are they delicious!

 

5 Responses to “try this: raspberry cupcakes with champagne buttercream frosting”


  1. 1 lifelemons May 18, 2011 at 9:36 am

    You are making me want a cupcake now ;)Those sound like heaven!

  2. 3 raspberry pi alternatives July 21, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this website on regular basis to obtain updated from latest news update.

  3. 4 www.articlesamass.com September 26, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    First of all I want to say superb blog! I had a quick question
    that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested
    to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing.
    I’ve had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.
    I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or hints? Thank you!


  1. 1 Use Your IPhone Like A Pro With These Handy Tips | Raspberry pi alternatives Trackback on September 9, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


