registering for a breakdown

Did you know that there are approximately 46,936 items on Babies R Us’ “suggested registry items” checklist?

You didn’t? Well, there are.

My husband claims – quite accurately, I must say – that Babies R Us is everything that is wrong with America. That they prey on your fears as a first-time parent, that if you don’t have this, that, and the other thing – you will fail miserably as a parent. Technological advances are great and all, but we need to remind ourselves that, for centuries, people managed to keep their children alive without things like the stroller weather shield {I especially enjoy that the picture of the product was taken in sunny weather}, wipe warmers, and shopping cart covers.

Registering for gifts became an evening of comedy as Luke pointed to every item he deemed ridiculous and went on and on about how he’s so glad that someone invented ________________ because whatever would we do without it?!

This is why it’s nice to surround yourself with practical women who will tell you what you need {a carseat}, what is helpful {a baby monitor}, and what is down-right ridiculous {wipe warmers}.

So please, pretty, pretty, please, if you’re expecting {and if you are, congrats to you!} survey a woman or 3 who’ve had children in the last decade and see what they found to be necessary, helpful, and ridiculous and compare that with what you think your needs will be. Then, ask your mom – because, let’s face it, she did a pretty terrific job with you – for her input, even though she did this mothering thing decades ago, you survived, and I’m sure your mom didn’t have a wipe warmer at her disposal, so maybe you don’t need one either, eh?

4 Responses to “registering for a breakdown”


  1. 1 Jaime May 12, 2011 at 8:50 am

    I love this post – simply because we went through this just weeks ago. While we did register for some items that probably aren’t needed, we did manage to stay away from the wipe warmers and about 50% of the list that Babies-R-Us provides you when you register. (Talk about overwhelming!)

  2. 2 lifelemons May 12, 2011 at 10:18 am

    So true and you’ll even find you won’t use everything thing you do get!

    My mom was always pushing her wipe warmer nonsense off on me, “Don’t you think they would like a nice warm wipe on their little butt?” Babies can learn to suck it up like the rest of us…haha!

  3. 3 lifelemons May 12, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Whoa…hold up on the wipes warmer trash talk. I know if I was a baby again I would LOVE a wipes warmer. Ohhhh, the warmth and comfort of a lovingly warmed,tender wipe on my sweet little baby bum…I know I am loved. As opposed to being subjected to a cold old rough cloth on my tiny little baby hiney as you pull my warm comfy jammies off in the dead of winter and wipe my tender butt with a cold, half frozen cloth.

    BRB need to run to Babies R US to pick up a couple for the new incoming young uns in my life!

  4. 4 lifelemons May 12, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Oh look- I am at lifelemons house and even though I logged in as me on facebook, wordpress thinks I am her! Oh the evil I can spread…….

    >>>> lifelemons mamma


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


