the stripes are done! the stripes are done!

I say that with the same enthusiasm that I imagine Paul Revere said “The British are coming! The British are coming!” {Although I’m sure there was some, um, fear, maybe, in Paul Revere’s little rant. But, you know, I wasn’t there.}

So, the stripes are done.

It took me several hours over a two-day span, and they’re done. Finished.

Can I just tell you something? Will you promise to keep it a secret?

It. Was. Easy.

Yes, it was a smidge time-consuming and tedious, but overall, it was a simple process. At least, it was for me, because I took the time to do some research.

First – before pictures, just so you can really appreciate the hard work I’ve done:

{So I’m no photographer. Eh.}

So that’s what I was workin’ with.

All of my research pointed me in the direction of painting a “base” color on the wall – that is, one of the 2 stripe colors, preferably the lighter of the 2 colors – first, letting that dry, and then doing all of the measuring, drawing, and taping. So that’s what I did. Except for painting the lighter of the two colors on the wall as the “base” color. Because once I put the base color on the wall, and realized how dark it was, I decided that I wanted the other color to be lighter. No worries though. Everything turned out just fine.

Here comes the tricky part: apparently, no matter what brand of tape you use, you’ll never get a perfectly straight line without some bleeding through. So, what I read {and what my cousin’s hubby told me, and holy cow you should see his son’s room – he painted Gotham City on one wall and it looks fantastic!} is that once you get the tape on the walls, you should go over the edges of the tape with the color that’s already on the wall – sort of sealing the tape edges. Also because, if any paint does bleed through, it’s the color that’s already on the wall and so the bleeding doesn’t matter anymore. Does that make sense?

Anyway – this is what the room looked like after the measuring, drawing, taping, and sealing:

This was the least-painful part of the process. Surprisingly. What I did, was bought a four-foot level and used it as my “ruler” to draw the lines on the wall, so it made the line-drawing super-easy. Putting the tape up after drawing the lines was a piece of cake, and then sealing the edges was quick and painless.

The next day, I took to cutting in around doors, windows, and the baseboard trim. Then I rolled the stripes. May I make a recommendation? If you plan on painting stripes, buy a small roller. I used a regular-sized roller to roll the stripes {the stripes are 12 inches thick, in case you’re wondering} and it was a little challenging to “stay in the lines.” But, you know, live and learn. After rolling and cutting in 2 coats of the lighter color, I was finished. Another stripe-painting-recommendation was to pull the tape off while the paint is still wet in order to get the most crisp line without having to touch up. And you know what? It worked.

Proof that the lines are clean?

Well, you can sorta see it. But again, I’m not a great photographer.

So, those are the stripes. Obviously, the room is a ways away from being completed, but the fun part is the decorating and accessorizing.

In fact, I have another big project I plan on working on for this room – a rocking chair that I found at Goodwill that needs some major re-doing.

But after the stripes, I think I’m up to the task.

7 Responses to “the stripes are done! the stripes are done!”


  1. 1 Ellen May 9, 2011 at 9:56 am

    Oh they really turned out great! I think I’m more jelous that you have a room in your house that is completely EMPTY! We seem to be living in every square inch of our house but you do inspire me to simplify and make my home someplace that I find beautiful!

  2. 2 lifelemons May 9, 2011 at 10:32 am

    Good job! I LOVE it!!!

  3. 3 kellie May 9, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Nice job! I know how hard it is to get those stripes straight and even. Love your color choice. Please post your room when it’s done.

  4. 4 April May 10, 2011 at 6:28 am

    That looks great!

  5. 5 the momma May 10, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Super nice- great work.


  1. 1 now, it’s time to get serious « sunny side of life Trackback on June 20, 2011 at 7:20 am
  2. 2 now, it’s time to get serious | fancy this Trackback on May 28, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. πŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


