buyer beware

When Luke and I were preparing for our nuptials, {5 years ago} I went all type-a {a small part of my personality, because I’m the eldest “child” in my family, but for the most part, I’m a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kinda gal} on him and set out on working on a list of to-do’s before the I-do’s.

One of the big ones was buying furniture.

We had nothing short of the ugly couches in his bachelor-pad apartment, and that just wasn’t going over well with me. {In hindsight, I wish we would have just kept and covered the couches until I thought about what I really wanted. You’re noticing that theme with me aren’t you? It’s the fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants side.} Anyway, we also didn’t have any dining/kitchen furniture. Instead of thinking long-term, we thought about what we needed right then and settled on a sweet little country-style table with four chairs. FOUR CHAIRS. I have four siblings {one who’s about to marry} and two parents. Luke has two siblings {who are both married}, about 20,000 nieces and nephews, and two parents. If we have any people over who aren’t a couple, we have to move onto TV trays in the living room.

Glamorous, huh?

But my husband isn’t the money-spending type, so I just figured that I’d get a dining room set some time in the future after we won the lottery. And then, after a couple 0f consecutive having-people-over-for-dinners Luke said, “I really think we need to get a dining room set so that everyone can sit at the table at the same time.”

When I came-to a couple of hours later, I began the search for inspiration.

Of course I began with Lady Layla over at The Lettered Cottage:

And then I took a trip over to houzz:

Basically, I’m looking for a very rustic dining table with vintage-y chairs that don’t all necessarily look the same. I’m not afraid to search for what I want {We’ll probably buy the table from a retailer or custom seller, and I’ll search Goodwills, antique stores, and flea markets for the chairs} but this style is going to throw a wrench into everything. Y’see, the way I’ve decorated my house to this point isn’t very rustic farmhouse {which is the look I REALLY want} and so if I do the dining room this way, I’m going to have to change the kitchen. Check out our floor plan:

See? We don’t really have a dining “room” so much as we have a dining “nook.” And that “nook” is completely open to our kitchen.

Ergo, if I redecorate the dining room, I’m going to have to change the kitchen to really bring the look together and make the rooms compatible. Do you think my husband realized what he was getting himself into when he suggested that we buy a new dining table?

Me neither.

2 Responses to “buyer beware”


  1. 1 Julie April 13, 2011 at 4:27 am

    20,000 nieces and nephews? :-) Last count there were only 8 with a 9th on the way, but then again, you never know when another few will slip into the family :-)

  2. 2 Sheri April 13, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Can you just style my whole life. FYI… I will be a repeat customer…


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


