here comes peter cottontail

Yesterday, Luke and I began the process of painting Bambino’s nursery. It was an icky day outside, but for some reason, our dog, Dasher, really seemed to want to be in all of the ick.

So we let him outside.

At one point during the afternoon, I heard the jingle of his collar and looked down into the yard with the intention of getting his attention. Except that, no matter how many times I called his name, he didn’t pay me any mind- he was heavily focused on something else.

When he moved to the side a little, I noticed a tiny mouse, and my heart sank.

Y’see, Schnauzers are bread to kill little critters like that, and knowing it is one thing, but watching him actually do it is something that I’m not bread to do. Especially while pregnant.

So, I sent poor Luke downstairs and outside to take care of it. In the meantime, I was screaming at Dasher from the 2nd floor window of my house – anything to keep him from killing it before Luke got there.

Except when Luke finally reached Dasher, he said:

“Um, babe. It’s not a mouse, it’s a baby bunny.”

And then, I cried. I wanted Luke to save him from my evil little varment-killing dog. So he instructed me to calm down, and get him a shoe box. Fortunately, I still had my shoebox from the shoes I just purchased for my brother’s wedding.

And Luke brought the bunny in.

And then another.

And then another.

Three bunnies! {Well, there were four, but Dasher picked one up in his mouth and punctured the poor little guy, so Luke had to put him out of his misery. You can imagine what that did to my pregnancy hormones.}

They snuggled so cutely together in the shoebox, while I went to work figuring out what to do with them.

I called my vet, who referred me to the Wild Life Rescue in Delaware. But we live in Maryland, so the Delaware lady referred me to the lady in Maryland who could help me.

Except she wasn’t getting back to me.

So here I am, with three bunnies on my hands and no knowledge of what to do with them.

I called the Delaware lady back to get instructions.

Apparently, bunny mamas only come back once a day – in the evening – to feed their young, for three weeks. After that they’re on their own, because by then, mama is pregnant again, and looking for another place to nest. {I have new respect for bunnies. The pregnant every three weeks part, not the leaving them alone all day part.} I could have actually put them back in their nest, because rabbits are not like birds – if a human touches them, they still take care of them – but if I put them back in their nest, my dog will undoubtedly have a field day with them. I can feed them, 1cc of kitten milk replacement in the evenings until this Maryland lady gets back to me. But I have to be careful, because in the beginning of their lives, bunnies have cleft pallets, and can drown if I feed them too quickly from the syringe.

It took several attempts to get them to accept the formula from the syringe since it’s not what they’re used to, but I finally did it. I got the bunnies to eat! Yay me!

But after that long day, I’m exhausted.

And looking forward to an infant.

3 Responses to “here comes peter cottontail”


  1. 2 melissa March 24, 2011 at 10:20 am

    poor babies!!!! hope they get back to you soon!

  2. 3 rescue files December 28, 2013 at 11:16 am

    This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found
    something which helped me. Appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


