it’s a mystery

In case you were wondering {were you? that’s so sweet!} I’ve decided to go with horizontal stripes in Bambino’s room. For 2 reasons:

1. I like the visual of horizontal stripes as a backdrop to the curtains in the room, {which, obviously, will be hung vertically. wouldn’t that be a trick?} plus I just think they are pleasantly different, from a design perspective.

2. THE Layla Palmer of The Lettered Cottage commented on MY blog {this is a big deal in my world. it’s like having your favorite actress walk up to you in the street and ask for your autograph} suggesting I do vertical stripes with a little winky face, which I have chosen to take as a challenge to do the horizontal stripes.

So.

That’s not what I really wanted to talk about today.

What I really wanted to tell you about is Ikea. And how angry they make me.

Let me explain.

Once upon a time, before I knew that Bambino was a boy, I browsed the ‘net, searching for ideas for Bambino’s room. In my search for boy inspiration, I came across this rug from Pottery Barn Kids.

Isn’t it darling? Anyway, I’m not a huge fan of the price-tag, and so I began my search for a budget-friendly alternative. Enter Ikea. They had a rug that was almost identical except the blue was darker {which I liked} and the tan stripes were white – like this one from Ballard Designs. The best part is that it was in the $20-$30 range.

And so, my girlfriends and I set a date {after I found out what kind of Bambino I was having} to go to Ikea and get this rug {and some other things just may jump into our carts too…}.

Except, when we went on Saturday, the rug was nowhere to be found. And I’ve scoured Ikea’s website, and can’t find it. Even though, in one of their rotating room pictures on the website, it’s there, in all of it’s glory.

What happened to this rug?

7 Responses to “it’s a mystery”


  1. 1 lifelemons March 21, 2011 at 11:30 am

    I think because we planned our trip forever ago that it just sold out :( That thought occurred to me yesterday.

  2. 3 lifelemons March 21, 2011 at 11:32 am

    I just looked back in my email and you sent me a link to that rug on 1/14/2011. We might need to check eBay!

  3. 4 Layla March 21, 2011 at 11:45 am

    Hey friend!

    I just an internet search for that Svege rug and it seems they’ve discontinued it. :-( So STINKY!

    http://www.thisnext.com/item/87ED0A22/9FFB355D/IKEA-SVEJE-Rug

    I’d keep an eye out for one on eBay.
    Seems like stuff always pops up there!

    XO
    Layla

    PS…Can’t wait to see the stripes! ;-)

  4. 6 DDTM March 21, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Registry can be your friend too. Maybe some group of people will band together (Heh) and get you the stripey rug.

  5. 7 melissa March 22, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    i can check when i’m there tomorrow! sometimes you can still find things hiding :-)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


