shallow

“I don’t care what we’re having, as long as it’s healthy.”

Is a load of crap.

Everyone has preferences. To deny them is just silly, and I’ll bet that behind that answer {given with a plastic smile and a rub of the baby bump} is a desire for pink ribbons or a sports motif.

My husband and I have a preference.

For once, we’re on the same page, and I’m not going to give you all of the reasons why – but we would like a boy.

Ok, well, I’ll tell you some of the reasons.

Generally speaking, I don’t care for girls. There are exceptions to every rule, but I find that as a group, we’re pretty horrific people. It’s no wonder we got the punishment of pregnancy, labor, and delivery. Also, I’m not sure how to parent a gender where the response to “He hit me!” isn’t “Hit him back, and make sure it’s twice as hard, so that he really wonders whether he wants to hit you again.” And you know what? After all of the hitting, boys are friends again. It’s like the hitting never happened. They don’t remind each other of it, hold a grudge over it, or talk about or analyze it with other people.

I like boys.

Now, before you get your panties all in a bunch, or call social services and demand that they remove my child from my care as soon as it’s born {if it’s a girl}, I will tell you that I will not be in mourning if we find out that bambino is actually a bambina.

Not only because she’ll be mine, but because if she does come to me and say “She hit me!” I will just be forced to tell her the same thing I would tell a son. My kid, my choice, right?

But also, friends – and I’ve moved passed the stage of having shame for this, so pardon me please – because ever since I found and told you about this baby bedding, I’m in love. I can’t get it out of my head, and I almost want a girl more, just so I can have that baby bedding and decorate the nursery around it.

What I’ll do after she’s grown out of the baby bedding, I have no idea. We’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.

Hey. You can’t say I’m not honest.

2 Responses to “shallow”


  1. 1 littlemisskeri March 4, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    haha Laura, I love you :)

  2. 2 DDTM March 9, 2011 at 11:07 am

    I’m against boys right now. But that is a whole other thing. :)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


