just say no

It’s a slow week here on the ole’ blog. Boy do I wish my personal life held the same easy-breeziness.

I’m busy y’all.

I’m well aware of my weaknesses. We all have them, we’re not perfect, but it’s not until I’m in the midst of the insanity that I realize it. Oh! That’s right:

But that’s tough, isn’t it? We want to be able to do it all. We need to be able to do it all. But you know what? When I’m too busy trying to do it all, I’m doing nothing to enjoy the gifts that I’ve been so blessed with.

A man in the church I used to attend just passed away. He was young, and had a young family. I look at how they spent his final months together – taking vacations, spending time making precious memories – and I’m reminded that life is precious and short, and that I don’t want my husband’s {or future children’s} memories of me to be that I cleaned their toilets well or that I was busy, busy, busy making plans. I want them to remember me in the memories that we build together. The times that we spend talking or enjoying dinner or playing games or on vacation.

So as much as I don’t want to – as much as it almost pains me to do it – sometimes, I’ve just got to say no to what isn’t eternal, and start doing what is.

1 Response to “just say no”


  1. 1 Mel @ Mel's Box of Chocolates March 6, 2011 at 7:47 am

    I must work on this too. I am crazy busy right now and you are right that I need to focus on the things that are truly important like my relationships and creating memories. Thanks for the reminder. I’m linking up in my Sunday Stars post today.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


