caution:pregnancy hormones ahead

Alternate Title: Why I Should Be Exempt From Taking the Dog to the Vet

Luke and I have a Miniature Schnauzer. I’m sure you all have pre-conceived notions about little dogs, but he really is the exception. He doesn’t pee everywhere, he doesn’t bark at everything in sight, and the best part is that he doesn’t shed…he’s hypoallergenic! It’s not just him who doesn’t shed – Schnauzers as a breed don’t.

He does, however, require some mild grooming every so often because his hair grows. Think of it as a trim.

Anyway, he had an appointment with the groomer on Friday – the groomer works out of our vet’s office. Luke dropped him off in the morning – as is the standard protocol – and I went to pick him up after work.

I walked in the door and it was crowded. So, since I had some time before my turn, I took a look around the room; I always like to see what kinds of dogs people have {mostly labs. bor-ring} and what other kinds of pets people bring in {cats.}

And then, just as I was about to focus my attention on the ladies behind the counter, willing them to call my name next, my eye caught a family to the right of the desk. It was a family of four with their lab, and the son and daughter were crying. It was obvious what they were there to do, and it was equally as obvious that none of them wanted to make such a tough decision.

Immediately, my mind went back in time, not too long ago, when we had to put our family dog down. I remembered the emotion of the day, how it just ate me up inside, that we as a family had to make the decision to do something that we wished had just happened naturally. How, after years of establishing wonderful memories with him, we had to say goodbye. How I felt the need to let him know in the moments before he took his last breath how much I loved him, how much he meant to me, and as silly as it sounds, how I would never, ever be the same.

“Next!”

I was jarred out of my state of remembrance when I realized that the girl behind the counter was talking to me. I walked up to the counter, she asked what I was there for, and just as I opened my mouth to speak, the tears started streaming down my face, and I couldn’t even get my dog’s name out. She nodded that she understood, and when I composed myself enough to use my words, I told her why I was there. When she went to go get my dog, I looked over at the family – I was standing closer to them then – and I made eye contact with the daughter. It was obvious that I was crying {heaving sobs, red face, tears} and I felt like, for just that one moment, she felt some sort of relief that someone else cared about what she was going through.

They went back in the room then, and just a minute later, they brought my dog out. We got into the car, and on the drive home, I rolled the windows down for him. And when he stuck his head out to enjoy the breeze, I thought to myself: “Remember this moment, because theirs are even fewer than ours.”

And then I cried some more.

2 Responses to “caution:pregnancy hormones ahead”


  1. 1 Ellen February 22, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Better that then a hallmark commercial!


  1. 1 things i love: braids « sunny side of life Trackback on February 24, 2011 at 1:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


