does this post make my stomach look fat?

It had been a while since I saw my family. Sometimes, Luke and I have a schedule that prohibits even spending time with each other, so that combined with the fact that I was in Florida a couple of weeks ago, really prevented us from having time to spend with them. Even still, we saw them on Sunday.

My mom made her home-made chili {which, in case you were wondering, is out of this world delicious.} and as we all sat down to the dining room table, my brother Jacob said:

“Geez Laura, you’re getting huge!”

I kept waiting for him to chuckle, and I even had a little half-smile on my face because a comment like that is so typical Jake.

“Seriously, how much weight have you gained?” he asked.

“Um, 2 pounds.”

“Yeah, I can tell.”

And then we all did laugh, including my husband, who, I think, is Jake’s biggest fan. It’s moments like that when I’m sorry that his girlfriend isn’t around {she lives in Canada} to wallop him on the head. {yes, wallop is a word.} Or maybe he says things like that to me, because he knows when he marries said girlfriend, she will wallop him in the head for stuff like that if he ever says it to her.

Either way, that exchange is every pregnant woman’s dream, don’t you think?

2 Responses to “does this post make my stomach look fat?”


  1. 1 lifelemons February 16, 2011 at 11:00 am

    I just love him, he’s so clueless about stuff like that! ;)

  2. 2 DDTM February 18, 2011 at 11:15 am

    AP should have slapped him – that’s been her job her whole life.

    ‘Cause she’s the best, she’s blond, she’s…..


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. πŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


