james harrison

That man – in the picture above, is quite possibly one of my most favorite Pittsburgh Steelers of all time. His name is James Harrison. He’s in good company, of course. He’s in among my other favorites – Jerome Bettis, Troy Polamolu, and Hines Ward.

He does his job, and he does it well. His stat sheet will, for sure, get him into the NFL Hall of Fame one day, and even though he gets {stupidly} fined every now and then for some of the incredible hits he makes, he’s actually a clean player. He looks scary, but apparently is one of the most soft-spoken, sweet men off the field.

Luke and I are having a pretty tough time coming up with a boy name.

I’m not sure why. Ok well, that’s not entirely true. I’m quite sure, actually.

In spite of the fact that Heather and I have thrown a list of boy names, that total somewhere around 200, at him, he has yet to hear something that “feels right.”

You have no idea how unendingly frustrating this is.

One night, while watching the Steelers vs. Ravens Playoff game, our friend Rob started throwing out the names of some Steelers. “What about Troy?” he asked. Eh, no. {As an aside, name association really kills picking a boy name for both of us, too. We actually think Troy is an ok name, but I’ve associated it with a man my dad was friends with a while ago who’s a little, um, country, and has ruined that name for me. I’m sorry if that’s you, but it’s true.} “Ok, what about Hines?” “No.” “Heath?” “No.” “Jerome?” “No.”

“I’ve got it!” he said “James Harrison last name!”

To which Luke replied: “No, I’m not naming my son after a football player; even a Steeler.”

But I actually like the name James Harrison. Not because it’s associated with one of my favorite players, but because it sounds nice. And it really does go well with our last name. {You’ll just have to trust me on that one.} Plus, James is actually on the list of boy names that we agree on, so why not? Because it’s a Steelers’ name, that’s why.

So, I let it go.

Then the Superbowl came around. And “we” {because apparently, all Steelers fans include themselves in with the team when referring to playing a game} were getting our butts handed to us by the stinking Green Bay Packers. And then, out of the middle of nowhere, James Harrison sacked that sissy of a quarterback, Aaron Rodgers, and that made the whole game for me. To this day, I still don’t care that we lost {especially because we didn’t earn it} because all I needed to see was that man doing his job, working hard and nailing one of my least favorite quarterbacks in the NFL. {after Peyton Manning, of course}

And after that play, I sent out the following Tweet:

“If we have a son, I’m naming him James Harrison last name. Its official.”

And everyone who wasn’t watching the Super Bowl closely, or who just don’t follow football at all, thought that was the GREATEST idea in the world. I’m not kidding you, a bunch of people “liked” it on Facebook, and one woman {Hi Diane!} is a really big fan of it. So much so, that we talk about it a lot because, like I said, I really do like the name.

And even with all of that positive feedback, Luke still won’t budge. I think I’ll just send him out for coffee when the birth certificate lady comes in after the baby’s born. Whadya think?

2 Responses to “james harrison”


  1. 1 lifelemons February 11, 2011 at 11:36 am

    I’ll do you one better and lock him in the car when time comes to sign the birth certificate! Muhuwahaha!


  1. 1 things i love: braids « sunny side of life Trackback on February 24, 2011 at 1:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


