mr. florida

I was in Florida last week.

I’m sorry I didn’t tell you I was going, but there’s just something about packing for a 5-day trip that blocks my brain from multi-tasking. If it makes you feel any better, I also forgot to plan meals for my poor husband while I was away. He survived on Pizza and leftovers. Aren’t you glad you’re not my wife?

Why wasn’t your husband with you in Florida, Laura?

Well, that’s because I have the coolest job in the world and got asked to accompany my pastor and his wife {and their 5 kiddos} to Florida so that they could attend a conference. And I watched the kiddies. They really got the raw end of the deal, because I only had to watch their kiddies for 2.5 days and I got a full ride to Florida/DISNEY WORLD.

What I’m about to tell you, I think, will not be well received by those of you who are, to put it mildly, obsessed with all things Disney, but: I had not been to Disney World since I was one year old.

Reason 1: I’m the oldest of 5 kids. Do you know how expensive kids are? Do you know how expensive Disney is? You do the math.
Reason 2: My dad was/is a mailman and my mom was a SAHM. You do the math.

Don’t feel bad for me though – we did other great stuff. And also? Since I hadn’t been in 25 years, I appreciated Disney just as much as my pastor’s kids did, which is to say: a whole heck of a lot.

Some highlights include: Seeing the fireworks in Epcot and Magic Kingdom, riding It’s a Small World {yes, I’m serious}, seeing the purest happiness on the faces of five precious kiddos at various times throughout the day, and lots and lots of hugs and kisses.

Oh. And 80 degree, sunny weather.

Probably the cutest thing that happened is when the middle kiddo, Eva, decided to start calling me Mr. Florida, which in her 3 year-old-dialect came out sounding like Mista Fwawda. Which kind of, if you listen closely, could possibly sound like Miss Laura, which can also be a challenge to say for a 3-year-old. Either way, it was stinkin’ adorable.

But if this Mr. Florida thing sticks, do you think Florida will hook a sister up and maybe throw some benefits my way? Like, say, free trips every year or something?

3 Responses to “mr. florida”


  1. 1 ebeth420 February 8, 2011 at 10:41 am

    I lived in Orlando for 10 years. I went to each of the Disney Parks (of the ones that were existing at the time – pre animal park) exactly THREE times. And that was TWO times too many for me. But I’m so glad that you and the five kiddos had a fantastic time. I always felt like there was something wrong with me that I couldn’t get into the MAGIC of the place.

  2. 2 lifelemons February 8, 2011 at 10:57 am

    I’m glad you guys had a fantastic time!


  1. 1 does this post make my stomach look fat? « sunny side of life Trackback on February 16, 2011 at 10:08 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


