afraid of the frump

Within the past couple of months, my schedule has changed at work. All of my hours have been lumped into 3 days, so I now have off for 2 days in the middle of the week.

This has been lovely for a few reasons:

1. I don’t waste any more Saturdays doing chores around the house.
2. Sleeping in.
3. I have guilt leaving the dog home alone and my guilt is absolved for a least 2 more days.
4. Sometimes husband and I end up having those days off together.

The downside is that I get so busy with the chores and such {or watching re-runs of Teen Mom 2 and General Hospital} that the shower is not something I visit, and makeup never makes it onto my face. Nor does a well-planned-out ensemble make it onto my body; sweats are comfier to lounge around clean in.

This worries me because I plan on being a stay-at-home-mom, but I’m a firm believer in not looking frumpy. I mean, I’m not my husband’s mother, I’m his wife and I want to look nice for him. Plus, I grew up with a mother who always {well, maybe not always, but most days that I can remember} dressed nicely and had her hair done and makeup on by the time my dad came home from work.

Maybe these days off leading up to the birth of bambino will be a good time for me to establish discipline in this area.

I hope.

How do you fight the frump?

5 Responses to “afraid of the frump”


  1. 1 lifelemons January 20, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Just be sure to shower when the baby is sleeping or when the husband is home. Buy comfortable loungwear because it is not necessary to be dressed up just to sit at home with the baby. Plus your going to be breast feeding and you want to be comfortable when your home because they eat so often. Put a dash of makeup on before you go out of before L comes home and your good! ;) Or don’t wear makeup like me, muhuwahaha!

  2. 2 Melonie January 20, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    I guiltily admit that I have completely succumbed to the frump. Although I admit, I almost never wore make-up to begin with, so nothing there has changed. This post makes me realize I might want to at least run a brush through my hair in the morning…

  3. 3 Ellen January 20, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    Find a fashionista friend who will take you shopping and help you stay “fashion forward”…. oh wait…

    Seriously though, while it’s an admirable goal to look nice, your priorities will change. Who care if you look frumpy if you’ve spent your morning making baby noises at your little bundle of joy? Not you!

  4. 4 the momma January 20, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    I thought “frump” was actually a fashion statement. Just wait for the hair to turn gray and boom you will be me!
    Now if that doesn’t scare you straight into the boutique nothing will!

  5. 5 Tina February 2, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    My goal is not to turn into a frump… I am already bad at it and I work in an office everyday. I am supposed to be quiting my job this year to stay home with my daughter (and hopefully mor to come)…and I am worried about being frumpy. I have no fashion sense at all. Everything I own that is cute was bought by my sister or my mom…My mom is worried about me too!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


