it’s a……baby!

Before I even got pregnant, my dear friend Heather bought me this gender predicting test.

I did some research and discovered a couple of things:

1. This test is expensive. Like, worth a big box of diapers. From BJ’s. {That’s how I compare prices now. Cost of item vs. how many diapers I could purchase. What’s happened to me?}

2. The company that makes this test claims an 80% accuracy rate. That’s a little impressive to me.

So I just couldn’t wait to take this test. They recommend that you take it between 10 and 34 weeks for optimum accuracy. So I waited until the 10 week mark, which was today. The test comes with so many instructions that I’m quite certain that somewhere in the fine print is indicated that proper use requires a PhD in Science or something.

I followed all of the instructions to the letter, and when the time was up I looked at the test and…….my results were a little, um, muddied.

See, the test samples the hormones in your urine. In a nutshell, you add your first morning urine to this little jar which contains some powder-y stuff, swirl it for 10 seconds and then wait 10 minutes to read the results. If your urine is a yellow-y-orange color, it’s a girl; if it turns green-brown, it’s a boy.

My results were kind of strange. The powdery stuff was the color of the boy side, but the actual urine in the jar was like a yellow-green color.

Is this grossing you out yet?

So I’m calling this test inconclusive. Which is kind of a bummer. I mean, I wasn’t hedging all my bets on the results from this test, but if the results came back clear on either side, and then the doc confirmed it later on, I would be more apt to spend the money to buy the test on future pregnancies.

Plus, it would have helped us out in the name department as well. We’re absolutely certain on our girl name, but our boy name is a little up in the air. If it came back girl, I would be a little less worried about finding a boy name. {I know we have months to think about it, but I’d like to be ahead of the game whenever possible.}

I guess I’ll just have to wait another 10 or so weeks to find out “what kind” of baby I’m having.

5 Responses to “it’s a……baby!”


  1. 1 Kaila January 12, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    hahaaa! awww I’m a little bummed too! I was really excited to know!!! sigh… 10 more weeks. ;)

  2. 2 lifelemons January 12, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    It’s a boy, the key words I heard were green. FTW!

  3. 3 Kelly K January 12, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Again- Kelly can be a boy or girl name- just want to throw that out there…..

  4. 4 the momma January 12, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Perhaps the results mean twins…one of each. It could happen. Just saying.

  5. 5 Julie January 18, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    call the company and complain and ask for another one.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


