more often than not, someone else says it better

When people say “Happy Holidays” to me {more often than not, it happens in a department store or a grocery store.} I reply with “Merry Christmas.”

Christmas isn’t just a holiday. But I’m not celebrating “Holidays” I’m celebrating Christmas.

The birth of a little baby, who grew up to do something for me that I cannot fathom doing for someone else, least of all, my enemies.

Do you ever think about that?

Romans 5:8 but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us

My pastor used the PERFECT illustration for this once. He asked us to imagine dying for someone. I think many of us could think of loved ones we would do that for. But then he asked us to imagine dying for Osama Bin Laden. It really brings it home, I think.

Imagine that you had to pay the price for the sins ofΒ  Osama Bin Laden. {And then think of all the filth in your own life, because Jesus didn’t just have to die for him}

Impossible.

But he did it.

God with us. For us. On our behalf.

There is no better day to celebrate, no other “holiday” that compares.

But you should really go read what Leslie over at Goodbye house, Hello home wrote about it. Because her title is cute and her words are precious.

Merry Christmas

0 Responses to “more often than not, someone else says it better”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


