grande gingerbread latte

I went to New York City on Saturday with a group of friends.

We did all of the normal “New York City @ Christmastime” kind of stuff:

-Walking through Central Park {where, incidentally, I got the pleasure of witnessing a young woman vomit. There’s nothing like it.}
-Staring in awe of St. Patrick’s Cathedral {Seriously, Protestants missed the boat on beautiful architecture. Holy cow!}
-Window shopping on 5th Ave.
-Watching the Big Piano show {They play the piano with their feet. I got to do this when we visited two years ago}
-Walking through the Plaza Hotel {wishing I could stay for a night}
-Visiting Times Square
-Staring at the Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree for 50 forevers {along with about 3 million other people}

Then there were the other things that you don’t plan for, but that happen anyway.

-Having your ankles run over 3,634 times by people pushing strollers. {Note to self: NEVER EVER bring a child to NYC that cannot WALK by themselves. That’s just stupid. Even if they can walk, don’t take them on a Saturday at Christmastime, because it’s crowded and people with trip over, run into, or step on them.}
-Being invisible. Because what other explanation is there for people literally walking right into you?
-Long lines. To get anywhere. Wanna get into FAO Schwartz? Stand in line. Were you planning on visiting the super-cool Apple Store? Stand in line. Have to go to the bathroom? Stand in line. Stand in line. Stand in line. {I sort of expected this, but not to the degree we experienced}

I hate to complain. It really was a splendid time. And, we spent very little money, which is an even bigger bonus. It was $30 round trip to get there on the train, and since I didn’t actually buy anything, I only spent money on Starbucks, lunch, Starbucks, dinner, and Starbucks.

Speaking of Starbucks, on our last Starbucks stop {in the one in Time’s Square} I ordered a grande gingerbread latte. After I placed my order I sat down and waited for my drink to be made. My friend Heather rushed up to me after she placed her order and said “Do you know the actress Laura Linney?” “Yeah, I think so.” “She was standing right behind me in line!” “NO WAY!” I stood up {very casually and nonchalantly, of course} to catch a glimpse, and there she was! Heather’s hubby was not convinced that it was her though, so I devised a super-smart plan. “Here’s what I’ll do,” I said “my name is Laura too, and I ordered first, so when they call my name, I’ll wait for a little bit before I grab my drink so we can see if she reaches for it! It’s brilliant!” Everyone seemed to agree that it was a great idea.

And you know what?

When the barista called out “Laura, Grande Gingerbread Latte!” guess who reached for my drink? Laura Linney. Because guess what? Not 2 minutes later, another barista yelled out “Laura, Grande Gingerbread Latte!”

So that means that not only was it in fact Laura Linney, BUT that we ordered the same drink.

I’m practically famous.

3 Responses to “grande gingerbread latte”


  1. 1 Kaila December 6, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    hahahaa you really are. so famous. loved it.

  2. 2 lifelemons December 7, 2010 at 6:18 am

    That was SO awesome and if you would have stared long enough (like I did, ha!) she would have smiled back!


  1. 1 I <3 NY « Life After Lemons… Trackback on December 8, 2010 at 12:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


