i could change the world if i applied myself

I was in J.Crew a couple of weeks ago. Browsing and wishing and wishing and browsing.

One of the saleswomen {whose name is Laura, oddly enough} was there to help if I so required it, and at one point I looked down at her nails – they were the perfect shade of slate gray, no metallic in them just a straight-up matte slate gray – and {this is not an exaggeration} exclaimed loudly for all to hear, “That is the best nail polish color in the world! Where can I get it?! What color is it?!”

“It’s Essie,” she said “We carry it here, but I don’t think we have this color anymore. I forget the name of it, but you can go to Trade Secret and see if they have it. They’re the only other store in the mall that carries Essie nail polish.”

Friends, I searched all over. I went to Trade Secret 2 more times that week – they still hadn’t gotten any new Essie shipments in. I looked on Essie’s website, but without knowing the name of the color I was hesitant to purchase anything, because they have like, 700 shades of gray. {that is an exaggeration}

So about a week later, I was at the mall again {I really do have a life outside of the mall, promise} when I ran into Laura the saleswoman again and she recognized me. “Hey! I don’t remember the exact name of the polish color, but it’s something like Chinchilla or something close to that” she said.

I went home and googled “Essie Chinchilla nail polish” and wouldn’t you know it? I found what I was looking for!

It’s called Chinchilly and it’s from the fall 2009 collection. It’s the best nail polish color in the whole world, but friends, Essie costs $8/bottle. In my world, that’s on the expensive side. Thank God for Amazon.com – I found it for $4/bottle. And bought 4 bottles.

Don’t worry though, only 2 of them are for me.

5 Responses to “i could change the world if i applied myself”


  1. 1 Kaila November 24, 2010 at 11:03 am

    and one of them is for me!!!!!! =) Yesssss!!!!

  2. 2 melissa November 24, 2010 at 11:04 am

    is one for me?? PLEASE?!?!

  3. 3 lifelemons November 24, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    That is awesome! I’m so glad you found it!

  4. 4 ebeth420 November 24, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    What?!? No pictures? You get the greatest nail color in the world and don’t show us? Not fair!

  5. 5 albania tour November 18, 2014 at 5:00 pm

    Lunch and cuntinue to Capital City of Albania Tirana Begin the Tour of Tirana
    City. Sightseeing tour of Skopje, including the Kale Fortress, Church of the Holy Savior
    with its iconostasis, one of the finest samples of conventional walnut woodcarving, Previous Bazaar and Stone Bridge.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


