the problem with teenagers

Disclaimer: 1. I am aware that I used to be a teenager 2. I am aware that your little Johnny/Susie is not the teen I’m talking about. I’m referring to all of the other ones, of course.

I have a hard time with Justin Bieber.

I’m sure that’s the nicest way I can explain my dislike of this person. I don’t know that I’ve been able to completely pinpoint what it is, but it’s something. The entitlement, the girly hair, the lack of talent. Maybe all three?

Anyway, it’s something.

So, of course, during prime concert season this year, my poor, sweet, husband {who also has a hard time with Justin Bieber} was assigned to work security at one of  his concerts. Because he’s the new guy. Poor thing.

He went. And stood there as no less than 3,246 mothers came up to him in hysterics asking “Have you seen my daughter? She’s 12 years old, about 5’4″, has brown hair, and is wearing a Justin Bieber t-shirt!!!!!!!”

Sure. He’s seen her.

At one point during the night, my husband witnessed The One We Have Such Trouble With come out of his trailer, run up to another State Trooper {also working security, for him} and throw a water balloon right at him. Because he was standing too close to his trailer, or something stupid like that.

I guess we know why I have trouble with Justin Bieber.

At church this Sunday {I was visiting another church} I was standing with a friend of a friend who was taking her daughter and her daughter’s friend to see the wonderful Justin Bieber in concert that night. I felt compelled to share my hubby’s Justin story with them, although I have no idea why.

When I got to the end of the story, the daughter looked at me and said:

“So? I don’t care.”

Apparently, I have trouble with Justin Bieber fans as well.

2 Responses to “the problem with teenagers”


  1. 1 lifelemons November 18, 2010 at 7:38 am

    I’m right there with you on the Anti-Justin Bieber bandwagon. Hopefully he’ll fizzle out in the next 2 years. Hopefully.

  2. 2 Elizabeth November 19, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    I’m probably THE most unhip person ever. I know who Justin Bieber *is* – because unfortunately you have to be living under a rock to not recognize his face. I’ve been lucky though. I have NEVER heard him sing. Ever. I’ve been content to keep it that way. After reading your blog I’m *determined* to keep it that way.

    Now…if your husband ever gets assigned to do security for a Keith Urban concert, call me. I’ll help him stand guard. And I’ll hardly gush.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


