try this: pumpkin delights!

Friends, this pumpkin thing has been quite a trip. I hope you’ve enjoyed all of the great pumpkin recipes I’ve brought your way, but I can’t give you anymore. My poor husband is SO OVER pumpkin. In fact, I’m concerned for the next person who presents him with something pumpkin. He’s bound to cause them physical pain. Multiple times.

So, for our very last pumpkin recipe, I present to you:

Pumpkin Beignets

A Beignet is like a little donut. Sort of. Almost-ish. I stole borrowed this recipe from Shari over at Tickled Red. It’s quite possibly the most adventurous thing I’ve ever done in the kitchen. Food-wise. I’ve never fried anything before, ever. Because fried food is bad food. But these little pumpkin donuts stole my heart, and I decided that just one two wouldn’t kill me.

What You’ll Need
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon Chicago Spiced Sugar mix (or substitute with the following spices –  1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/8 teaspoon all spice, 1/4 teaspoon cardamom) {I just used Pumpkin Pie Spice, because, well, it was easier}
1 cup milk
1 medium egg, beaten {I used a large egg – because who keeps medium eggs lying around?}
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 1/2 quarts vegetable oil for frying
1/3 cup powdered sugar

Directions

1. Combine and sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, sugar and spices in a large bowl.
2. Combine the milk, egg, pumpkin and vanilla in a small bowl.
3.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. Combine thoroughly.
4. Heat the vegetable oil in a large pot {you don’t need a deep fryer – which is nice for me, as I don’t have one} over medium high heat until it reaches 325 degrees. You can use one of those fancy candy thermometers to gauge the temperature, but if you don’t have one, you can sprinkle a tiny bit of flour into the oil. If it sizzles instantaneously you’re good to go.
5. Using a tablespoon-sized ice cream scoop thingy {like this} drop 6-8 spoonfuls of batter into the pot {don’t do too many, it’ll affect the temperature of the oil} and cook for 5-ish minutes. Drain them on a paper towel covered plate. I tested a few first so that I could figure out what color they would be when they were cooked all the way through.

Serve hot and dusted with powdered sugar and drizzled with caramel sauce or maple syrup. And then call the dentist. You’ll need at least 3 cavities filled.

{you’ll notice the lack of powdered sugar and caramel sauce/maple syrup. and that’s because I didn’t put any on. Because I’d like to keep my teeth. And my figure. But you go right ahead.}

This recipe is the last in a series of pumpkin recipes. Check out the recipes for Pumpkin Bread,  Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Vanilla IcingPumpkin Spice Latte and Pumpkin Cheesecake.

5 Responses to “try this: pumpkin delights!”


  1. 1 Lauren November 16, 2010 at 11:38 am

    You need some savory pumpkin recipes in your repertoire! Then perhaps a kitchen coup will not occur.

  2. 3 Kaila November 16, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    hahaha I love that he is so sick of pumpkin. hahaa And you took your own pictures!!! How proud I am of you. :)

  3. 4 Tickled Red December 1, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    You go girl!! So glad you liked one of my favorite treats and gave them a try :) xoxo


  1. 1 try this: winter squash soup « sunny side of life Trackback on November 1, 2011 at 8:05 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 4 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


