try this: pumpkin delights!

How long do you think I can keep this going? Who knew there were so many great pumpkin recipes out there? It’s a miracle that I’ve been able to avoid gaining any weight with all this yummy food around, but there really is something to be said about only eating a nibble of something as opposed to all of it. Which was typical behavior of mine prior to losing the 20 or so pounds I’ve lost this year. But that’s another post entirely. Let’s get to the goods! This was another great find from Real Simple, but I’ve tweaked the recipe enough {without issue, thank God} that I really can call it my own. Almost. Ish.

Pumpkin Bread

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 cup pumpkin pie filling (not pure pumpkin) {that’s what they say. but darnit, I used pure pumpkin and it turned out quite lovely, thankyouverymuch.}
  • 1/2 cup canola oil, plus more for the pan {um, ignore this “plus more for the pan” I’ll explain that further in the instructions}
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup molasses {i didn’t have this in my repertoire of goodies. So I used 100% pure cane syrup, because it’s what I did have. And you know what? It still turned out delicious.}
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350° F. Oil a 9-by-5-inch loaf pan. {So this is the part that you should ignore. I oiled the loaf pan, and I didn’t like how the bread turned out. I buttered and floured it the second time, like I did with last week’s Pumpkin Bundt Cake recipe, and I liked the results MUCH better.}
  2. In a large bowl, combine the {pure} pumpkin pie filling, oil, sugar, molasses 100% Cane Syrup, and vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger. Slowly stir the flour mixture into the pumpkin mixture.
  3. Pour into the prepared pan. Bake for 60 to 65 minutes. Transfer pan to a wire rack for 10 minutes. Using a knife, loosen the bread from the pan. Invert it onto a cutting board. Serve warm. {with butter. because that’s just good sense.}

You know what? It’s a complete miracle that this bread even turned out considering all the changes I made to it, but it really is delectable. Seriously. You should try it. And bring it to Thanksgiving Dinner. Because it’s nice to share. And then you won’t be tempted to eat it all yourself.

See? I’m always looking out for your best interest.

This recipe is the fourth in a series of pumpkin recipes. Check out the recipes for Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Vanilla IcingPumpkin Spice Latte and Pumpkin Cheesecake and be sure to come back next week too – I’ll be sharing a recipe for Pumpkin Beignets. That is, of course, if I don’t burn the kitchen down trying.

6 Responses to “try this: pumpkin delights!”


  1. 1 Kailaq November 9, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    You are quite the chef :)

  2. 2 lifelemons November 9, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Super fun! Good job at using your resources, does anyone really keep molasses in their cabinets?

  3. 3 Ellen November 9, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Sounds yummy! I’ll have mine served warm with cream cheese please!


  1. 1 try this: pumpkin delights! « sunny side of life Trackback on November 16, 2010 at 11:34 am
  2. 2 try this: winter squash soup « sunny side of life Trackback on November 1, 2011 at 8:05 am
  3. 3 try this: winter squash soup | fancy this Trackback on May 28, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


