it’s arrived

I feel terrible for Halloween and Thanksgiving. Just awful.

Poor holidays don’t even have a chance.

I swear to you – when I was in the mall last week before Halloween I saw Christmas Decorations gloriously displayed in Macy’s. It’s like, gee whiz people, give it a rest already. Before too long, people will be lined up at the registers, piles of purchases in their arms just seething with holiday cheer at the fact that there wasn’t a tag on someone’s purchase and now they have to wait even longer before they’re rung up.

It’s the most wonderful time of the year.

Last year, my parents were watching some infomercial or something that was advertising the a capella group Straight No Chaser. Ever heard of ’em? They’re great. Anyway, they have this song call the Christmas Can-Can, and when I saw those Christmas Decorations displayed, it reminded me of this song. Give it a listen. And then do all of your shopping online please, because I still want to like you when this season is over, and I’m not sure I can do that if you’re all “Hey! I was next in line, not you!!!”

2 Responses to “it’s arrived”


  1. 1 Meghan November 11, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Yeah – the whole “I’m next in line not you” business is way worse in Peru. I’m serious. We Americans try to form lines, but people literally walk right in front of you and DO NOT CARE that you were CLEARLY there first. And this is all year round! What’s worse is the cashier doesn’t give a lick who’s next in line – she just takes the pushiest person.
    Your options: start a fight in a language you only kind of know, evilly glare and think really bad thoughts, yell at them in English (which is REALLY fun!), or remember that you’re a missionary and decide to smile and take the high road (this happens maybe once a month…. maybe).
    ‘Tis the Season…


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


