the ellen project: part 1 *giveaway contest*

This is Ellen:

{Well, it’s Ellen and herr beautiful family. You’ll never see a picture of  just Ellen. Because she’s just such a devoted wife, mother, and friend. It’s hard to find her flying solo.}

Ellen is the kind of person that makes you believe that God sends angels down from heaven to live as humans. She’s the best. Ever.

Ellen is also great because she makes me feel all special-like and asks me for fashion advice every now and then. And listens to it. We’ve gone shopping together a couple of times to find her a great outfit and it’s a blast. We usually go after Christmas because of the gift-card loot that she gets from family. But, her mom has offered to take her shopping for her birthday which was in August, {Happy Belated Birthday Ellen!} and so my services have been requested yet again.  This is her request:

 …..i was wondering if you could maybe put together some ideas/ pictures/ links for some fall, casual outfits that i could shop for….  something appropriate for a trip to the mall with a few kids in tow but looking good!  something that is not jeans but in the jean category?  no ballet flats but maybe some other cute shoe that i can wear socks with?

When it comes to putting outfits together for people I usually try to take their requests into consideration. But I’m getting Ellen into a pair of ballet flats if it’s the last thing I do. We’ve {well, she’s} been fighting this for two years now, and it’s time for me to win. Ahem. And I’m also thinking that jeans may not be such a bad idea. So basically, I’m only sort-of listening to Ellen. But that’s ok, I think she expects that from me. My inspiration for these outfits will be coming from such fashionistas as Anne Hathaway, Kat{i}e Holmes, and Jessica Alba. Because they really embody what I’ve decided is Ellen’s personal style.

But I don’t want to do this alone. I want your help. Here’s how this game is gonna work:

1. You and I will peruse the internets over the next couple of days – let’s say Wednesday the 15th is the deadline to email suggestions to me {fancythissunny[at] gmail [dot] com}- to find fabulous outfit ideas for our good friend Ellen. {trust me, if you knew her, she would be your good friend too} Remember to look for the previously mentioned famous fashionistas and see what they’ve been wearing. I’m open to other suggestions though!

2. I will pick the top ten. {It’s my blog, I have rights like that} And then you will vote for your top three favorites.  I’ll do all the dirty work to find less expensive alternatives to the ridiculously-expensive celeb-outfits, and that will be what Ellen uses to shop from.

3. And she is going to pick her favorite of the three and shop the outfit with her momma. {she is submitting herself to the authority of the blogosphere. Because I said so – hear that, Ellen?} And when she looks super-fab in her new clothes, she will send a picture for me to post so that we can all be super-excited over the great job we all did.

Doesn’t this sound fun?  I know what you’re saying. Um, what’s in it for me?

Well, aren’t you selfish?

Kidding. {kind of}

Ok, ok, besides the joy of helping Ellen look super-fabulous in a new fall wardrobe, there will be a prize for the submitter of the outfit that Ellen chooses. The prize?

A $30 gift card to our most favorite store of all time, H&M. And isn’t that just perfect timing? You know you’ve been dying to update your fall wardrobe. Maybe you’ll even get that great poncho we all love ohsomuch.

Now, I bet you’ll participate. Get to it.

4 Responses to “the ellen project: part 1 *giveaway contest*”


  1. 1 lifelemons September 13, 2010 at 6:34 am

    Ooh how fun! I just love Ellen!!!

  2. 2 Kaila September 13, 2010 at 7:36 am

    Awww Fun contest and a amazing person! I can’t wait to peruse InStyle and submit my entries!

  3. 3 Kim September 13, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    This is awesome! I love Ellen, I love your fashion skills… this is an awesome idea :) I can’t wait to see :)


  1. 1 this, that, and the other « sunny side of life Trackback on September 16, 2010 at 5:39 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


