try this: Niman Ranch Burgers

These are honestly the best burgers in the universe. I’ve never had a better burger. In fact, I dare you to try to find one. Seriously, they’re that good. I got this recipe from the Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics Cookbook. As summer winds down, I find that I’m making them more and more for my hubby who loves them and I think, will be very sad to see them go until next summer. {I don’t do burgers anywhere but the charcoal grill. IMO it’s the only way to go with burgers.}

  • 2 pounds ground Niman Ranch beef or other grass-fed premium beef (80 percent lean and 20 percent fat) {um, ha. Niman Ranch beef? I’m sorry, does anyone actually have access to this? I buy my ground beef from the grocery store, like most normal Americans. I do try to get the 80/20, but I’m not even terribly picky with that. It really doesn’t matter.}
  • 1 tablespoon good Dijon mustard {I use Grey Poupon Country Dijon, because I think it gives it a little extra zing. But regular dijon works just as well.}
  • 3 tablespoons good olive oil, plus extra for brushing the grill
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 sandwich-size English muffins, halved {we just put ours on regular hamburger buns. My favorite? Pepperidge Farm Classic Hamburger Buns.}
  • Good mayonnaise  {Hellmann’s is the only option here. There is no such thing as any other mayonnaise in my book.}

Directions

Build a charcoal fire or heat a gas grill.

Place the ground beef in a large bowl and add the mustard, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Mix gently with a fork to combine, taking care not to compress the ingredients. Shape the meat into 6 (3 1/2-inch) patties of equal size and thickness.

When the grill is medium-hot, brush the grill grate with oil to keep the burgers from sticking. Place the burgers on the grill and cook for 4 minutes. Using a big spatula, turn the burgers and cook for another 3 to 4 minutes, until medium-rare or more, or cook longer if you prefer hamburgers more well done.

Enjoy. And then, be prepared to make them at least once a week.

3 Responses to “try this: Niman Ranch Burgers”


  1. 1 lifelemons August 24, 2010 at 7:13 am

    Sounds yummy…I might need to make these with ground turkey instead!


  1. 1 try this: macaroni and cheese « sunny side of life Trackback on March 22, 2011 at 11:35 am
  2. 2 try this: macaroni and cheese | fancy this Trackback on May 28, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


