double standard

The husband just came home from a two-week long military-related adventure.

I missed him a lot in spite of all the trouble I’ve gotten myself into trying to re-vamp my office, and so I decided that this week would be a week of not doing anything but spending time with one another. When he asked me if I minded if he went to his ju-jitsu class this week, you would have thought that he asked me if I minded if he skinned our first-born child.

And then, yesterday after church Heather and I went to lunch together {hubby was working, this was not a violation of my rule} and she was telling me all about how she needs to buy a new dress for her cousin’s wedding in September.

Shopping?! Shopping sounds like fun. It seems like a legitimate reason to break the rules, right? Right. So we made plans to go shopping together later this week.

I went home from lunch and told Luke that he would be “allowed” to go to ju-jitsu on Thursday and the following exchange happened:

“Nah, you were right, we can just spend this week together. I’ll just go next week.”

“No, no. You should go, I mean, it’s just one little class. I was being selfish. Go.”

“No Laura, I think you had the right idea. I want to spend some quality time with you. It’s no big deal.”

Just go. It’s totally fine. It’s not even that long. I WANT YOU TO GO TO YOUR CLASS.”

“What did you plan?”

“Huh?”

“What other plans did you make? I know you made plans to do something else. What is it?”

“Heather needs a dress for her cousin’s wedding and I told her that I would go shopping with her.”

“Huh, interesting. So I want to go to ju-jitsu, and that’s not ok, but you want to go shopping, and that’s perfectly fine.”

“I believe, in my world, that’s what’s called a double-standard.”

“No, that’s called a double-standard in everyone’s world.”

“I love you.”

“Yeah.”

3 Responses to “double standard”


  1. 1 Kaila August 23, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Ha! Love it!

  2. 2 melissa August 23, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    LOL! we’ve totally had that conversation before ;-)

  3. 3 lifelemons August 24, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Love it and glad to know that I was the corrupter! Muhuwahaha!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


