i’m related to a couple of poets

As graduation presents, we gave my brother and sister $1,000,000 checks.

Kidding.

We gave them checks, but there were far less zeros on them.

Since my mom is the etiquette police, they both had their thank you cards all written out in a timely fashion. I had the pleasure of receiving both of theirs in the form of a personal delivery. And because I’m the coolest ever blogger in the world I’m going to share with you what they wrote to us:

Dear Laura & Luke,

This is just a card to thank you
and a line to tell you, too,
nothing could have been more welcome
than that thoughtful gift from you.

And as the years come and go
your gift will give me pleasure
and bring you back to us again
in memories to treasure.

Love, Jake
Ps: Nascar

I don’t have the time, strength or energy to explain his PS to you. You’ll just have to trust me when I say that we are one special group. On the back of the card he wrote:

I love you guys, especially Luke. Thanks for all of the hard work y’all did to make my day special.

Isn’t he a gem? No, really.

And then, from my sister, we received the following:

Dear ma sista from the same mista & my brotha from anotha motha,

Thank you boff for comin’ to ma house, helpin out mom and also her spouse.
Thank you Luke for comin’ lata, I know you was busy fightin crimes & that allagata!
Lauryin I hope you know, you did more than what’s neccessary, that’s fo sho!
I loved the pom poms, they was cute. I could bring ’em together & make a parachute.
You did more than enough, did I tell you Luke, you is lookin’ buff.
What you gave was way too much, but lemme tell you, thas a years worff of lunch!
No, but for real, I’m savin’ the money, So I can come to [Ceciltucky] & see my favorite hunnys!
Well, I must go, (Luke don’t forget to arrest that ho)
I love you boff with all of my heart, I betta see you soon or I’ll simply fall apart!

Love, Aundreya Smiff

PS: But seriously Laura, thank you very much for everything you did. I really really appreciate it! I <3 you guys! :)

Why they’re both not published, I’ll never know.

3 Responses to “i’m related to a couple of poets”


  1. 1 Kaila July 5, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    hahaha!!!

    “Ceciltucky” (and the rest of Andrea’s funniness)has me dying laughing.
    Like I can’t even breathe!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


