the best things happen by accident

On any given day in the office, I’ll walk in to find some random object or paperwork sitting on my desk. Seriously.(I’ve also had stuff missing from my desk as well. Important stuff too – staplers, pens, scissors. Nothing is sacred anymore, I tell you.) One time I walked in to find a trash bag full of tablecloths (albeit freshly cleaned tablecloths) sitting on my chair. With no note of explanation attached to them. What I was to do with these tablecloths, I didn’t know. Join the KKK? Dress up as a ghost for Halloween? Sew curtains? (ha! wouldn’t that be a sight?!) Turn them into a skirt? Who knows?

It’s always an adventure.

On Monday (or was it Tuesday?) of this week, I walked in to find a little postcard on my chair. “UGGGHHHH! Where did this come from?!” I asked. “I put it there,” said our Business Manager “I figured based on the content, that you would be the best person to hand that off to.”

“Oh, ok.”

I took a look at the post card and found that it was for a wedding photographer named Kaila. Because I’m curious, (or nosy, but either way, curiosity only kills cats) I visited her website, perused through her fabulous photos and landed on the “this is me” section of her website.

As I read through, I couldn’t believe how much alike we were.

When I found out that she lived in the teeny-tiny state I used to call home, had just recently moved there and didn’t have family or friends in the area, I was determined that we would be friends. And so, I emailed her.

That was my ulterior motive, anyway.

I emailed her under the guise of letting her know that I would be passing along her information to our wedding coordinator at the church, because, HELLO!!! how fabulously talented is she?! (I mean, I’m not lying about that part, but it was a good cover) But I slipped a little something about my addiction to Starbucks at the end of my email and told her that we should have coffee sometime. (I know, I’m a creeper, what can I say?)

Well, she just thought that it was a fantabulous idea too, and dontchaknow that we had coffee today, and dontchaknow that she’s even sweeter and prettier in person than on the internets, and dontchaknow that I just made a WONDERFUL new friend!! And guys, this is the best part; SHE’S TALL TOO!!!!!

I will be indebted to our Business Manager now; free Starbucks for him, for life.

4 Responses to “the best things happen by accident”


  1. 1 Kaila July 1, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    And donchaknow, I made an incredible new friend too. I feel so honored to be a blog post!!! With three exclamation points so you can gauge my level of happiness… ;)

  2. 2 lifelemons July 2, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    How fun! Glad you made a new friend, who’s tall-bonus!

    I had to laugh when I looked at the “this is me” link, the picture with the mason jars almost had me on the floor laughing!

  3. 3 Saintrav July 3, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Ummm. Free starbucks for life?!?!? He does not deserve that. Now me on the other hand …… a different story.


  1. 1 ideas and inspiration « sunny side of life Trackback on July 23, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 2 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


