keeping house

I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but I haven’t exactly been the most consistent blogger in the world as of late.

There are many reasons for this.

Among the most important (cleaning an entire house by myself, maintaining a wonderful marriage, keeping in touch with the people I know in real life) is this little journey of self-discovery I’ve been on.

Don’t worry. I’m not about to get all floopy on you.

(Floopy is indeed a word. In spite of what spell check will tell you. Just watch Friends.)

What I mean is that I’ve been learning new ways to do some of the things that I’ve always (at least in the last couple of years, anyway) done.

Like, for instance, decorating my house.

I’ve been inspired by a close friend, and blogs like this and this to revamp what I think is acceptable in the world of home interior design. It’s been quite a ride.

I hope to elaborate on this in the coming months as I reveal what I’ve been up to, but for now, I’ll just make a list for you.

1. I prefer cool colors. (This was a painful discovery, because my living room is accented with a cranberry-red. I cannot change this right now, because about 3 months ago, I bought these curtains in dark henna. The new me just shuddered at the price. Even though they were purchased with gift cards.)

2. I like vintage/modern style. I know this seems odd, but it makes sense if you see it. Like this. Or this. And this. Yummy.

3. Pottery Barn, fabulous though it may be, does not sell one-of-a-kind vintage pieces at reasonable prices.

4. Goodwill sometimes does, and has become my new best friend. It is where I have gotten some of my favorite pieces.

5. There is not much in life that can’t be fixed with white paint or black paint or spray paint. I promise.

6. Yard sale-ing is more fun than should be legal. And also, extremely beneficial.

I’m sure there’s much, much more. But for now, this will have to do. I hope you’re intrigued. And I hope that if you’re hiding somewhere out there in the blogospher, having given up all hope for me to be a serious blogger ever again that I can prove you wrong.

I’m back.

2 Responses to “keeping house”


  1. 1 Renee June 15, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Any girl who can pull off innovation AND turquoise nails, I’m a fan of!
    Cute post! =)


  1. 1 senator Trackback on February 23, 2015 at 9:53 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️ 2 weeks ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 3 weeks ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 2 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 3 months ago
  • going for a ride alone in the car.....to the dentist. somehow this isn't as relaxing as i thought it would be. #hatethedentist #whygod 3 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


