waxing philosophical

Internets, do you have any indulgences?

You know, like buying a Coach purse once a year, or treating yourself to Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream every now and then?

Well, mine is waxing.

I know it may not seem like an indulgence on the surface – it can be painful if you’re not regular, and let’s face it; you can just buy razors at the dollar store and achieve the same outcome – but give me a moment to build my case.

As mentioned about 30 bajillion times before on this here blog, I’m 5’10”. In layman’s  terms? I’m pretty flippin’ tall for a girl. And so: long legs that need to be shaved on a regular basis because I detest hair – the energy it takes to shave my legs= letting someone else do it. But bonus! I end up finding someone to do it who I actually enjoy spending time with.

I’m not kidding you – Helene and I talk about everything. Religion, politics, demons, scary movies, vacation….on and on the list goes.

So, back in December I went to visit her again and since the last time I had seen her (I should go every 4 weeks, but um, yeah, that never happens) my family had to put Blitzen down. I was filling her in on the story, but that wasn’t the greatest idea I’ve ever had because like me, Helene is a dog lover. Imagine the scene:

I’m laying on my back legs bent and twisted in all sort of convoluted ways to give Helene the optimum waxing stance. I’ve got wax strips on my legs and the hair is quite mercilessly being ripped from its roots causing me momentary but steady shoots of pain. Meanwhile, I’m filling her in on the whole Blitzen saga to the point where we’re both in tears. I mean crying, for real.

We were quite a mess; the two of us. But, I always leave her feeling physically and emotionally fabulous.

Helene is like a two-for-one deal. You go to see her under the guise of aesthetics, but you get a therapy treatment thrown in for good measure.

2 Responses to “waxing philosophical”


  1. 1 lifelemons March 18, 2010 at 7:14 am

    Ah, so true! Helene rocks!

  2. 2 Joe Pulcinella March 28, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    When you first said “waxing,” I thought you were talking about surfing. :o)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


