that’s it! i’m moving to vacation

A couple of weeks ago, husband and I noticed that he had a significant break coming up in his work schedule and spontaneously decided that it would be a perfect time to take a little mini-vacation.

Y’see, we haven’t been away together – just the two of us – since he was on leave from his deployment; almost 2 years ago. To be fair, I don’t really think that either of us noticed it what with him being in the police academy and then the whole buying the house fiasco.

Either way, a vacation was in order.

So, being the helpful device that the internets are, we visited HomeAway and found a lovely little place down in the Outer Banks to stay (which may or may not have been in very close proximity to my most favorite seafood restaurant of all time) from last Wednesday through Sunday.

Ahhhhhhhh.

First of all, I’ll just take this moment to say that I love North Carolina. Okay, really? I just love the south. But I love North Carolina in particular because of:

1. The accent of the locals
2. That it’s connected to an ocean
3. It’s unbelievably peaceful

I loved the drive down there (in spite of the fact that I had a 3-month-old puppy in my lap the entire time) I loved arriving there, and I even enjoyed my drive home, which is usually the worst part of a vacation.

We had a great time together – just us and the puppy – taking walks, eating great food, and playing more games of Monopoly than is even normal.

The worst part wasn’t coming home and knowing that we have laundry and unpacking to do, or even that we both have to go back to work this week. It’s that all of those things aren’t taking place in a place that we would both enjoy living.

2 Responses to “that’s it! i’m moving to vacation”


  1. 1 lifelemons March 15, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    I’m glad you guys could get away! So fun!

  2. 2 JADEEYES March 22, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Its kinda contradictory when you think about it, since the whole point of vacation is to get away from your reality which you are supposed to dislike to some level… that is normal. If is that terrible then moving is in order yes, but I’m no body to tell you that, which you already pointed out. I was just reflecting on your words!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


