you know what they say: new house, new….

Puppy.

I get a strange thrill out of being controversial. Or tricky.

I gotta tell ya folks, ever since our little Blitzen died back in September I’ve really wanted a Miniature Schnauzer. I’m sure there’s some sort of psycho babble as to why I shouldn’t jump into getting one, but I missed the little guy, and I love the breed.

So, I asked for one for Christmas, and my husband did everything in response to that request but laugh at me. Actually no, scratch that, I think he did laugh at me.

Basically, there was no hope.

Except that, on Christmas morning, I opened up a tiny little box with a note inside that said:

“…..let’s get a Miniature Schnauzer puppy.”

That little line was part of a fabulous little rhyming poem that he wrote which, if I posted it, would probably get me in divorce court quicker than Joan Rivers runs to her plastic surgeon after spotting a wrinkle. But trust me, it was adorable.

And I cried.

So we found a local-ish breeder, and went to pick out the little guy. We narrowed it down to 2 choices and then finally settled on this guy:

Ain’t he just the cutest? So, in honor of naming our Christmas-present-puppies after reindeer, I went with tradition and named him Dasher.

Now, since my husband allowed me to get a puppy he says that I’m not allowed to bug him about kids for another 3 years.

We’ll see.

1 Response to “you know what they say: new house, new….”


  1. 1 lifelemons February 20, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    I really need to come and meet the new guy!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

  • "i fee-sing (freezing) mommy, i fee-sing!" said Isla, after a light breeze on a 92-degree day.....in haiti. #islandbaby #islanoel 2 days ago
  • discovering that the movers took the @IKEAUSA bed slats apart. πŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸ€¦πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ 1 month ago
  • i see A LOT of haitians wearing pants. and i'm here in tank tops and the shortest shorts appropriate for my age, sweating from my earlobes 1 month ago
  • @KathleenLights1 i had a cuban english teacher in HS and my son had a cuban pre-k teacher last yr. i can't go eithe… twitter.com/i/web/status/8… 3 months ago
  • @KathleenLights1 YES. it's amazing. well done and so authentic. also? idris elba. 4 months ago

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


