what’s in a name?

As one of the administrative assistants at my church, my daily tasks range from answering phones to sending emails, to formatting the church newsletter.

We have quite a thriving sports ministry as well, and since youth basketball is starting up soon, it was/has been my task to help parents register their children.

Today, a mother called to register her son (just shy of a month past the registration deadline, of course) and the process was going smoothly.

“Your last name?” I asked

“Dunkley” she said.

“Okay, and your son’s first name is?”

“Slam.”

Yup, Slam Dunkley. I hope to heaven that this kid makes it into the NBA. With a name like that, he’ll need to be famous.

6 Responses to “what’s in a name?”


  1. 1 Laura's Biggest Fan January 6, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Bahahahahahahahahahahahahahha. This made me laugh. Alot.

  2. 2 Stephie Merk January 7, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    oh my gosh…that is SO funny…I can’t stop laughing!!

  3. 3 littlemisskeri January 7, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    hahahahahaha oh Laura, only these sorts of things happen to you! :)

  4. 4 lifelemons January 11, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    I would change my name immediately if my parents did that to me! I don’t know how you kept from laughing!

  5. 5 MC_Shann January 20, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Bawhaaaa haaaaa haaaaaaaa!!! Ow my side hurts from laughin!


  1. 1 winterset iowa Trackback on February 23, 2015 at 9:53 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


